Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See our full list of databases by title and subject.
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Late 1800s-present. Citations and Abstracts. Combines Anthropological Literature (from late 1800s) and Anthropological Index (1957-present). Journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
1975-present. Citations & abstracts for nearly 1,130 leading arts and humanities journals. Cited reference searching. Subset of Web of Science.
Business Source Complete
Coverage dates vary, in some cases as far back as 1886. Selected full text. This scholarly business database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Also includes information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Covers virtually every area related to economics. Sources include journals, books, and working papers in economics. Produced by the American Economic Association.
eHRAF World Cultures
Fulltext. eHRAF World Cultures is a collection of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. It also provides information on more than 365 cultural, ethnic groups, religious, and national groups, including topics such as political structures, kinship units, and migration & settlement patterns.
1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
1970-present. Fulltext. Covers perspectives on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and government reports.
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext. Includes news, business, health and legal topics, primarily from print, broadcast, and online media. Includes the New York Times.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
1915-present. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Social Sciences Citation Index
1956-present. Part of the Web of Science. Cited reference searching finds articles that have cited a previously published work, making it possible to see the impact of that work and its author on subsequent research.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
1600-2000. Fulltext primary sources. Women's reform activities in the U.S. from colonial times to the present. Includes books, pamphlets, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
Searching for Articles
If you need to find articles on a topic, start with one of the databases on this page. Database information on this page is useful if you need to start research on a topic, but don't know what's been published on it. If you need to find a specific journal title, search one of the eJournal lists below.
A selection of eJournals for research in Asian American Studies. Many eJournals are available in multiple databases; for complete holdings information, use the eJournals search tool above.
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.
For maximum benefit:
- Click on Scholar Preferences
- Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
- Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook