Research & Subject Guides: Using the Internet for Historical Research: Newspapers & Magazines

Newspaper Databases

Online Newspaper Collections available through the Library. The New York Times (Historical) Archive is the only database that contains newspapers from before roughly 1980.

New York Times (Historical)
Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
Newsday
1985-present. Fulltext of Newsday (Combined edition). Fulltext of Nassau edition 1988-1997. Fulltext of Queens edition 1988-1996.
Newspaper Source Plus
Current. Full text. Includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

Historic Magazines & Journals

Unlike historic newspapers, there are few major historic magazine collections available on the web.

Google Books: In addition to having full-text copies of many pre-1923 books, Google Books also contains issues of various periodicals from the 19th and 20th centuries.

First issue of Life magazine from November 23, 1936.

Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ): Digital collection from the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. Searchable full text of several eighteenth and early nineteenth-century British publications.

Using the Internet for Historical Research

Newspaper Collections on the Web

Newspaper Databases

Historic Magazines & Journals

Library

Resources

Follow Us