Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Book Collections
Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts
A sub-set of the Internet Archive. This collection is comprised of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses, contributed by the Internet Archive Community.
Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries.
Online Medieval & Classical Library
Collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Contains over 50 digital collections in the areas of art, architecture, drama, humanities, social issues, etc. (University of Iowa)
Google Books is extremely useful, because it searches the complete text of a book. It can help you find books that may not come up in the library catalog. When you find a book that looks good, then do a "Title starts with" search in SEARCH to see if the Library has it.
As of 2019, Google Books contained over 40 million scanned books. Many from before 1925 are available full-text.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
We will request a copy from another library.
Request an item or set up an account.
Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.
WorldCat is a catalog of most libraries in the U.S. & Canada and many from other countries. Find books, DVDs, web sites, musical scores, archival material and more.
There are two versions of WorldCat, the subscription version from First Search, which is below and which I recommend, and the free version. If you find something you need while searching in WorldCat, and we don't own it, we can usually get it from another library. See InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to learn more. One great feature of the First Search version is that it automatically fills out your ILL request form.
Pre-1000 BC to present. Licensed WorldCat product. A catalog of books and a wide variety of other materials in libraries worldwide.
The world's largest network of library content and services, allowing you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.