Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Web Sites
Best of History Web Sites
Best of History Web Sites contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
History Matters (Center for History and New Media)
Among the many digital resources are lesson plans, syllabi, links, and exhibits. Designed for professional historians, high school teachers, and students of history.
Internet Public Library: History Collection
Almost 900 annotated web resources for History. Includes: Historical Documents and Sources; History Blogs; History by Era; History by Region; and History by Topic.
From the University of Houston. Includes primary sources; multimedia; an interactive timeline; collections on various ethnic groups; History Reference Room; virtual Exhibitions; collections on special topic; sand a section for teachers.
Not Even Past
Provides dynamic, accessible, short articles on every field of History. Founded in 2010 and developed by the Department of History at the University of Texas. It is "a place for all who are interested in history to meet one another and share their viewpoints, to learn what books and films historians are reading and watching, and to gather perspectives on national, international, and Texas events of contemporary interest."
Genesis: Guide to Sources on Women's History
Extensive list of web resources on women's history from around the world and divided into a number of categories.
European Libraries Online
List of European Libraries on the Web.
Digital South Asia Library (Center for Research Libraries)
Online collection of scholarly reference books and general titles, pedagogical books, journals, newspapers, indexes, bibliographies, images, maps, and statistical information from the colonial period through the present.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Making of America Project (Cornell)
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. The main sourcebooks have primary documents for Ancient, Medieval, and Modern history. Other subsidiary sourcebooks include: African, East Asian, Global, Indian, Jewish, Islamic, Lesbian/Gay, Science, Women.
EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
Western European historical documents (mainly primary) that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ)
Digital collection from the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. Searchable full text of several eighteenth and early nineteenth-century British publications.
The European Library
Search digital collections, audio and printed music, images, manuscripts, maps, journals, children's literature, theses and dissertations from Europe's National Libraries.
Voice of the Shuttle
Searchable database of websites for research in the Humanities; includes a large section of primary and secondary material about European History.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
NARA has preserved and provided access to the records of the United States of America for more than seven decades. Records help us claim our rights and entitlements, hold our elected officials accountable for their actions, & document our history as a nation. In short, NARA ensures continuing access to the essential documentation of the rights of American citizens and the actions of their Government. NARA is the keeper of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.
New York State Library: Selected Digital Historical Documents
Sets of historical documents from the collection of the New York State Library, available online as PDF documents. Collections include: American Revolutionary War, 1775-1783; New York State Census; American Civil War; Laws of New York State; Native American Materials; New York State Constitutional History: Constitutional Conventions;New York State Government; New York State History - Colonial Period and Towns and Counties; and New York State Museum Publications.
European History Primary Sources (EHPS)
Index of scholarly websites with digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. The websites listed on EHPS are not only meta-sources but also include invented archives and born digital sources. Each website that is listed in EHPS has a short description and is categorised according to country, language, period, subject and type of source. The portal can be searched in a variety of ways. The listed websites can be accessed for free, though sometimes a registration is required.
Featured Web Site
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972)
conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes.
Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living. Members of every
tribe resident in Oklahoma were interviewed. The collection includes the original tapes on which the interviews were recorded,
as well as microfiche copies of the typescripts. The digital representation of the typescripts are organized by tribe but may
be searched by interviewee, by interviewer, by tape number, or by keyword searching of the full-text of the transcript.