Psychology

Much of the peer reviewed research you're looking for has been published as articles in academic journals. You can find a lot of those articles and journals by using library databases.

No one database contains everything so using more than one is an effective search strategy. And if you find a citation that is not full text in any database, use Interlibrary Loan. 

This is a suggested list of databases that will cover many psychology-related research topics.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) makes resources available by providing electronic or physical delivery of material from other library collections. Material that is not owned by Stony Brook University Libraries may be obtained from other participating libraries.

For more information, please visit our website.

Google Scholar

A Google tool that:

• searches the web for scholarly articles, books, theses, and related academic sources
• generate citations and can also export citations to EndNote
• to a certain extent shows "cited by" information for articles
• can specify broad date ranges

Linking Google Scholar to Library Databases

You can set Google Scholar to display links into University Libraries databases for full text access.

• Go to Google Scholar - Settings 
• Click on Library links on the menu on the left
• Search for Stony Brook in the search box
• Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - FullText @ Stony Brook
• Click save

You will now see FullText@StonyBrook links next to articles if the content is available in our databases.

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.