Research & Subject Guides: BUS 115: Introduction to Business: Business Research Databases

Finding company information

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a good source for company overviews. Select the Company Dossier link (under Search by Subject or Topic) to access the company snapshots. These overviews include a brief company description, brands, competitors, executives, financials, news, as well as information about legal activities and intellectual property.

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials features an intuitive user interface that makes it easy for users to access in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products.

For more information, see the links below:

Overview of Business Insights: Essentials

Suggested Databases for Use in BUS 115

These are the databases that you are most likely to use for this class. See the Business research guide for more business databases available at Stony Brook.

Business Source Complete
Coverage dates vary, in some cases as far back as 1886. Selected full text. This scholarly business database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Mintel Reports: Academic
Mintel reports provide marketing information for consumer products. They include corporate statistical data, some of which comes from Simmons Research, the National Consumer Survey (NCS), and the Teen Survey. Covers most recent two years and updated every two years. New coverage areas added regularly. NOTE: Available only to the Stony Brook University community and requires patrons to use an active Stony Brook email account as their username.

If you have any issues related to accessibility of the content of this resource, please reach out to LibraryERMS@stonybrook.edu for assistance with accommodations.
Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

Finding Customer Demographics Using Mintel

Use the Mintel database to find marketing information and customer demographics.

Helpful Videos:

BUS 115: Introduction to Business: Business Research Databases

Finding company information

Business Insights: Essentials

Suggested Databases for Use in BUS 115

Finding Customer Demographics Using Mintel

Library

Resources

Follow Us