Research & Subject Guides: Financial Literacy Guide: Databases

Databases with Financial Information

Typically databases can only be accessed with a subscription. As an SBU student, you have access to many databases through Stony Brook University Libraries. However, some of these databases are provided for free by the government and are fully accessible through the links below:

SBU Databases

Business Source Complete
Coverage dates vary, in some cases as far back as 1886. Selected full text. This scholarly business database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students.

Government Databases

Bureau of Economic Analysis
This is a government database that hosts all economic data including GDP. This database may be useful if you are interested in looking at personal income and saving.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
If you are interested in government publications, this catalog can help you find resources that may be available at your local federal depository. If you need assistance in your search, click on the "Help" button located below the search bar on the homepage.
Consumer Finance Research & Reports
This is a database of free research conducted by CFPB concerning consumer finances.
Federal Trade Commission Media
This online resource allows you to search and view free videos related to financial scams, loans, and credit cards. Once you click on the FTC link, you will have immediate access to these videos.
U.S. Government Bookstore (GPO)
The U.S. Government Bookstore allows you to search, view, and download resources related to many topics. This particular link will take you to resources related to consumer issues, including financial tips. Publications are available in English and Spanish.

Financial Literacy Guide

Databases with Financial Information

Library

Resources

Follow Us