Anthropology

Includes access to the museum's science publications and archives, museum publications and digital special collections, and archive authority records.

Conference and research papers.

Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.

The National Anthropological Archives collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world’s cultures and the history of anthropology. Its collections represent the four fields of anthropology - archaeology, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology, and linguistics - and include field-notes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, and sound recordings created by Smithsonian anthropologists, other preeminent scholars, and Indigenous peoples from around the world.

New York University Center for the Study of Human Origins
Digital collection of images related to biological anthropology and archaeology that are broadly related to the study of human origins and evolution from a biological and cultural perspective.

Full Text access to selected scholarly journals and e-books. Citations and abstracts for books and journals outside of SBU's full text subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection.

The Society for Applied Anthropology database features two journals; Human Organization and Practicing Anthropology.

AfricanFossils is a virtual lab showcasing a digital collection of fossils and artifacts found mostly at Lake Turkana in East Africa.

From the Institute of Human Origins (IHO), this metasite has interactive multimedia, research and scholarship about human evolution.

An online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders.

Digital archaeological documents and data.

Offers images of codices and excavations, as well as bibliographies of published literature pertaining to most aspects of the ancient cultures of Mesoamerica.

Over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning for sites in the United States.

Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.