Research & Subject Guides: Latin American History: Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record

Description

Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record.

The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts The Andean Collection, Part I.
Language: Spanish
13 Reels

The collection contains some 184 manuscript volumes and unbound documents relating to the Spanish colonization of Latin America, dating from the 16th to early 20th centuries. Materials include correspondence, government documents (including reports, commissions, decrees, and awards), church documents, poetry and other writings on civil, military, economic, religious, and social topics. Materials originate from Spain; Mexico and Central America; the Caribbean; and South America, from Columbia south through the Andean region to Argentina and Paraguay.

Series II: Cuban History and Literature, Part 1: Serials from Harvard University Serials
Language: Spanish
31 Reels

The periodicals collected here provide a unique window on Cuban culture from the early nineteenth century through the 1920s and 1930s. Cuba's large population of literate crillollos or creoles supported an active publishing industry that offered almanacs, gazettes, magazines for women, literary journals and more.

The roles of women with respect to domestic duties, child-rearing and "proper" conduct is reflected in such publications as La familia. The love stories and sentimental articles and poems contained in such literary periodicals as Album de las damas demonstrate popular beliefs -- both real and idealized -- about love and gender relations.

With its unique mixture of European and African influences, Cuban popular entertainment has always held particular fascination for North Americans. Included here are periodicals covering Cuban theater and music halls, such as Floresta cubana.

Filmed from the collections of Harvard College Library, this collection gives users access to hard-to-find materials, supporting research not only on Cuban, but on Caribbean and Latin American history in all of its aspects: from literature to economics to science to women's issues.

The overall scheme of arrangement of the records is chronological. Within each year of records, the categories of classification (as described in the preface to the printed index) are as follows:

Section 1. Causas administratiyas y de guerra -- military reports concerning native activity, official visits, and reports pertaining to such administrative activities as the number and location of royal stores for tax purposes, reports of governors and other officials, and many other matters pertaining to administration on a federal level.

Section 2. Minas solares y terrenos -- records of sale of mining property and land actions pertaining to mining properties, ranches, and other properties.

Section 3. Protocolos -- the formal protocol written during the course of the years by various city officials, dealing with city and provincial business, public records, wills, and other matters of government.

Section 4. Causas civiles -- civil court cases pertaining to suits concerning money and materials, and cultural transactions at the civil court level, including topics such as enforced slavery.

Section 5. Causas criminales -- federal criminal court cases, including murder, theft, rape, labor conflicts, etc.

Section 6. Papales Varios -- unidentified comments or parts of documents that the organizers of the microfilmed material could not otherwise classify or properly index.

Sources Citing the Collection

Defiance and Deference in Mexico's Colonial North: Indians Under Spanish Rule in Nueva Vizcaya by Susan M. Deeds
Call Number: F1219.1 .C46 D44 2003
ISBN: 9780292705517
Publication Date: 2003 - University of Texas Press
In their efforts to impose colonial rule on Nueva Vizcaya from the sixteenth century to the middle of the seventeenth, Spaniards established missions among the principal Indian groups of present-day eastern Sinaloa, northern Durango, and southern Chihuahua, Mexico--the Xiximes, Acaxees, Conchos, Tepehuanes, and Tarahumaras. Yet, when the colonial era ended two centuries later, only the Tepehuanes and Tarahumaras remained as distinct peoples, the other groups having disappeared or blended into the emerging mestizo culture of the northern frontier. Why were these two indigenous peoples able to maintain their group identity under conditions of conquest, while the others could not? In this book, Susan Deeds constructs authoritative ethnohistories of the Xiximes, Acaxees, Conchos, Tepehuanes, and Tarahumaras to explain why only two of the five groups successfully resisted Spanish conquest and colonization. Drawing on extensive research in colonial-era archives, Deeds provides a multifaceted analysis of each group's past from the time the Spaniards first attempted to settle them in missions up to the middle of the eighteenth century, when secular pressures had wrought momentous changes.
Los Paisanos: Spanish Settlers on the Northern Frontier of New Spain by Oakah L. Jones
Call Number: Main Library Stacks F799 .J75
ISBN: 9780806128856
Publication Date: 1996 - University of Oklahoma Press
We all know of the Spanish explorers, soldiers, and missionaries who came north from Mexico into the American Southwest and then withdrew, leaving Christianized Indians, Spanish place-names, and sturdy adobe forts and churches. But little has been written about the colonists sent by Spanish authorities to settle the northern frontier of New Spain, to stake Spain's claim and serve as a buffer against encroaching French explorers. "Los paisanos, " they were called - simple country people who lived by their own labor, isolated, threatened by hostile Indians, and restricted by law from seeking opportunity elsewhere. They built their homes, worked their fields, and became permanent residents - the forebears of United States citizens - as they developed their own society and culture, much of which survives today.

Latin American History

Where Is It?

Description

Contents

Sources Citing the Collection

Library

Resources

Follow Us