Zotero

To get the most out of Zotero, it is highly recommended to create an account. While you can use Zotero without one, having an account allows you to sync your library, collaborate with others, and access additional features. If you don't have an account, you can register for one using your active email address. During registration, you can choose any username that has not already been claimed by someone else.

Zotero offers two types of syncing to configure based on your needs:

Data Syncing:

Merges your library items (except attached files) across devices, allowing access from any computer with Zotero desktop application installed and online through Zotero Web Library at zotero.org. Data Syncing is free and unlimited for all users.

File Syncing:

Syncs attached files like PDFs and images using either Zotero Storage (300 MB free, with paid plans available) or WebDAV. File syncing accompanies data syncing but requires separate configuration.

To enable syncing, go to the "Edit" menu on the top bar, select "Settings", and enable syncing by ticking the appropriate boxes.

You will need to ensure that at least data syncing is enabled in your Zotero desktop application before you can access your library from Zotero Web Library.

By default, Zotero will store your library in the following locations, depending on your desktop operating system:

Clicking the "Show Data Directory" button will bring you to the exact location of your Zotero library data. You can change this location by specifying it in the Advanced pane of the Zotero preferences ("Edit" → "Settings" → "Advanced"). Scroll down until you find "Data Directory Location":

To ensure you don't lose your Zotero library, make sure this location is included in your regular computer backups!

If you are planning to switch computers, it is crucial to back up your Zotero data directory and transfer it to your new device. After setting up Zotero on your new computer, simply replace the default data directory with your backed-up files. This will allow you to seamlessly continue your research without any loss of data or organization.

If you have synced your Zotero library in the past, Zotero will attempt to retrieve your data from its web server when you set up your new computer. However, be aware that if you have only used data syncing and not file syncing, you may risk losing actual files, such as your PDFs and other formats. To avoid this, ensure that both data and file syncing are enabled in your Zotero settings, or manually transfer your files to the new computer along with your data directory.

Zotero Groups offer a powerful and convenient tool for collaboration, allowing you to share collections with classmates, colleagues, or broader communities. You can easily track ongoing discussions and projects within your institution or department. Group Libraries function separately from your personal library, enabling you to manage distinct projects or collaborations within the same Zotero account, keeping everything organized under one profile.

To create Zotero groups, you can use the top menu by selecting "File" → "New Library" → "New Groups...", which will bring you to the "Create a New Group" page on zotero.org.

You can also skip the previous step by directly visiting the webpage on zotero.org using this link. Once logged in, you'll be able to choose a name and select the type for your new group.

The "My Publications" feature in Zotero allows you to create a bibliography of your research automatically and share copies of your work online. This feature provides you with a custom, easy-to-navigate URL in the format of https://www.zotero.org/your_username, making it convenient to showcase and share your research publicly.