Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Graduate Student Tool Kit: Science, Technology, and Engineering

Locating SBU Masters Theses and Dissertations

Stony Brook University Libraries maintains theses and dissertations of Stony Brook University (SBU) graduates in print and in electronic format. In 2007, The Graduate School at SBU instituted the electronic submission process. The databases listed on this guide can be used to locate dissertations and theses of SBU graduates and others. 

If you are unable to locate a theses or dissertation, please let us know. It is possible that that the file is "in-process" or that the author has selected to embargo and restrict access.

Licensed Databases

Licensed databases accessible to Stony Brook University students, faculty, and staff.
 
  • Dissertation & Theses@Stony Brook (ProQuest database): citations and/or access to the full-text (1967-present) of dissertations and theses authored by graduates of Stony Brook University. Please note: incomplete coverage for early years. 
     
  • Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest database): full-text and citations; contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works; includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present. 

Open Access Databases

Purchasing Print Copies and Electronic Files

Please note: the University Libraries do not sell or reproduce dissertations and theses.

It is recommended that you first check for access through one of the University Libraries' licensed databases (see center, top box), through an open access database, or by searching the Libraries' catalog

If you not affiliated with SBU, you may be able to borrow a copy through your university's interlibrary loan department or purchase a copy from ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Express service.