Graduate Student Tool Kit: Science, Technology, and Engineering

1960s-present for ACM titles, dates vary for others. Fulltext for all ACM publications, citations and abstracts for others. Articles, proceedings, books, theses, SIG newsletters.

Date coverage varies. Open access to over 1/2 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Statistics, and Quantitative Finance.

1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.

1933-Present (Worldwide coverage); 1693-Present (North American coverage). Abstracts. Includes all areas of geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, and stratigraphy.

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

PLEASE NOTE: Google Scholar does not search all of Stony Brook's subscription databases.

To see links to SBU's resources while searching Google Scholar, go to settings, click "Library Links" and search for Stony Brook University. Make sure Stony Brook University is selected and save your settings. Then when you search in Google Scholar, "view full text at SBU" will show up next to resources we have in our catalog so you can easily access them.

[IEEE Xplore] Fulltext from 1988-present, with some titles going as far back as 1913. Includes IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.

1860s-present. Citations and abstracts. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature, in the tradition of the paper Mathematical Reviews.

Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.

1900s-present. Citations & abstracts. Largest substance database with more than 26 million substances, including 12 million organic substances. World's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. The link leads to instructions for accessing the database.

Training materials for using SciFinder-n can be found here: https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n

(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.

1993-present. Citations only. Indexes papers in every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.