Research & Subject Guides: Sustainability & Environmental Studies: Articles/ Databases

Research Starter

SEARCH Everything

Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP

Databases

Library Databases enhance your research by providing access to millions of eJournal articles, eBooks, webpages, multimedia, news & more.

Browse our full selection of databases by title or subject: Databases A-Z

Here are the select Environmental Studies & Sustainability databases:

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary database and good place to start research on environmental and sustainability topics
Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry (ATSDR)
By Congressional mandate, ATSDR produces "toxicological profiles" for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites. These hazardous substances are ranked based on frequency of occurrence at NPL sites, toxicity, and potential for human exposure. Toxicological profiles are developed from a priority list of 275 substances. ATSDR also prepares toxicological profiles for the Department of Defense (DOD) and the Department of Energy (DOE) on substances related to federal sites.
more...less...
By Congressional mandate, ATSDR produces "toxicological profiles" for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites. These hazardous substances are ranked based on frequency of occurrence at NPL sites, toxicity, and potential for human exposure. Toxicological profiles are developed from a priority list of 275 substances. ATSDR also prepares toxicological profiles for the Department of Defense (DOD) and the Department of Energy (DOE) on substances related to federal sites.

Annual Reviews
Published annually. Critical reviews written by leading scientists in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Access Note: SBU has partial access to this resource
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A sub-collection of the Open-Access Text Archive section of the Internet Archive. Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions joined together to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections and make it available through a global biodiversity commons.
A sub-collection of the Open-Access Text Archive section of the Internet Archive. Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions joined together to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections and make it available through a global ?biodiversity commons.?

Biological Abstracts: 1980-2006 (Ovid)
1980-present. Citations and abstracts. Comprehensive coverage of the world?s published biological and biomedical research, including traditional, experimental and interdisciplinary areas of biology. More than 5,000 international sources.

BioOne
2000s-present. Fulltext. Over eighty high-impact publications across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Engineering Village
1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.

ENVIROnetBASE
Fulltext. Collection of 347 e-books that gather critical research, analytical, and policymaking reference works on subjects ranging from ecological risk assessment and environmental toxicology to GIS, remote sensing, and industrial hygiene.
Environment Complete
Deep coverage of myriad environmental topics

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
GeoRef
1933-Present (Worldwide coverage); 1693-Present (North American coverage). Abstracts. Includes all areas of geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, and stratigraphy.
GreenFILE
1970s - present. Mostly abstracts; some full text. Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.

PAIS Archive
1915-1976. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.

ProQuest Basic Search
The ProQuest database can be used for basic searches in many fields of subject. ProQuest features subject criteria on the arts, business, dissertations and theses, health and medicine, history, newspapers, and much more.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway linking national and international scientific databases and repositories. This site allows users to search scientific information collected from around the world. Much of the information in this database is not available via conventional web searching.

Unpaywall - Free Scholarly & Research Articles

Unpaywall is a Chrome and Firefox browser extension that discovers and links to green open access manuscripts of published research and scholarly articles.

Unpaywall taps into content from thousands of open-access repositories worldwide. For more information see the Unpaywall FAQ.

Install Unpaywall

OA Button

Open Access Button is an open access article discovery service and browser plugin. Legally shared, full-text scholarship and peer-reviewed articles can be found using Open Access Button. Thanks to the efforts of librarians, scholars, and technologists –and the Open Access movement– it’s easier than ever to legally and freely read millions of articles. Open Access Button sources include all of the aggregated repositories in the world.

Sustainability & Environmental Studies

Research Starter

Databases

Unpaywall - Free Scholarly & Research Articles

Install Unpaywall

OA Button

Try Open Access Button

Search for Articles

Don't Have It?

Library

Resources

Follow Us