Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Catalog Quick Search
Find books, journals, DVDs, collections and more in our catalogs. | HELP
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
We will request a copy from another library.
Request an item or set up an account.
Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.
WorldCat is a catalog of most libraries in the U.S. & Canada and many from other countries. Find books, DVDs, web sites, musical scores, archival material and more.
There are two versions of WorldCat, the subscription version from First Search, which is below and which I recommend, and the free version. If you find something you need while searching in WorldCat, and we don't own it, we can usually get it from another library. See InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to learn more. One great feature of the First Search version is that it automatically fills out your ILL request form.
Pre-1000 BC to present. Licensed WorldCat product. A catalog of books and a wide variety of other materials in libraries worldwide.
The world's largest network of library content and services, allowing you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
The Palgrave Handbook of Digital Russia Studies by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2020-12-16
This open access handbook presents a multidisciplinary and multifaceted perspective on how the 'digital' is simultaneously changing Russia and the research methods scholars use to study Russia. It provides a critical update on how Russian society, politics, economy, and culture are reconfigured in the context of ubiquitous connectivity and accounts for the political and societal responses to digitalization. In addition, it answers practical and methodological questions in handling Russian data and a wide array of digital methods. The volume makes a timely intervention in our understanding of the changing field of Russian Studies and is an essential guide for scholars, advanced undergraduate and graduate students studying Russia today.
Before They Were Titans Essays on the Early Works of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
Dostoevsky and Tolstoy are the titans of Russian literature. As mature artists, they led very different lives and wrote vastly different works, but their early lives and writings display provocative kinships, while also indicating the divergent paths the two authors would take en route to literary greatness. The ten new critical essays here, written by leading specialists in nineteenth-century, Russian literature, give fresh, sophisticated readings to works from the first decade of the literary life of each Russian author--for Dostoevsky, the 1840s; for Tolstoy, the 1850s. Collectively, these essays yield composite portraits of these two artists as young men finding their literary way. At the same time, they show how the early works merit appreciation for themselves, before their authors were Titans.
The Other Russia: Local Experience and Societal Change by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Most recent research seeks to explain contemporary changes in Russia by analysing the decisions of Russian leaders, oligarchs and politicians based in Moscow. This book examines another Russia, one of ordinary people changing their environment and taking opportunities to provoke societal changes in small towns and the countryside. Russia is a resource-rich society and the country's strategy and institutional structure are built on the most valuable of these resources: oil and gas. Analysing the implications of this situation at the local level, this book offers chapters on resource use, local authorities, enterprises, poverty and types of individual, as well as a final chapter which places local societies within the framework of the Russian politicised economy. Based on extensive empirical data gathered through more than 400 semi-structured interviews with entrepreneurs, teachers, social workers and those working for the local authorities, this book sheds light on the role of local activity in the development of Russian society and is essential reading for students and scholars interested in Russia and its politics.
Memory Politics in Contemporary Russia: Television, Cinema, and the State by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2018-07-11
This book examines the societal dynamics of memory politics in Russia. Since Vladimir Putin became president, the Russian central government has increasingly actively employed cultural memory to claim political legitimacy and discredit all forms of political opposition. The rhetorical use of the past has become a defining characteristic of Russian politics, creating a historical foundation for the regime's emphasis on a strong state and centralised leadership. Exploring memory politics, this book analyses a wide range of actors, from the central government and the Russian Orthodox Church, to filmmaker and cultural heavyweight Nikita Mikhalkov and radical thinkers such as Aleksandr Dugin. In addition, in view of the steady decline in media freedom since 2000, it critically examines the role of cinema and television in shaping and spreading these narratives. Thus, this book aims to gain a better understanding of the various means through which the Russian government practices its memory politics (e.g., the role of state media) and, on the other hand, to sufficiently value the existence of alternative and critical voices and criticism that existing studies tend to overlook. Contributing to current debates in the field of memory studies and of current affairs in Russia and Eastern Europe, this book will be of interest to scholars working in the fields of Russian Studies, Cultural Memory Studies, Nationalism and National Identity, Political Communication, Film, Television and Media Studies.
Digital Libraries and eBook Portals
Search the full text of over 15 million books. Books in the public domain are available to read online or download for free. Also contains magazines and periodicals.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Brings together the collections of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts
A sub-set of the Internet Archive. This collection is comprised of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses, contributed by the Internet Archive Community.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A growing collection of more than 44,000 online, open access scholarly books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
The first provider of free electronic books, this digital library contains over 60,000 eBooks, with a focus on older texts for which the U.S. copyright has expired.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text access to selected Oxford University Press books. Please note that we do not have full text access when the "locked" image appears next to the title.