Research & Subject Guides: Russian and Slavic Studies: Primary Sources & Digital Libraries

Select Primary Source Databases

Europeana
Europeana is the EU digital platform that aggregates cultural heritage data from libraries, archives, and museums in Europe.
European History Primary Sources (EHPS)
Index of scholarly websites with digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. The websites listed on EHPS are not only meta-sources but also include invented archives and born digital sources. Each website that is listed in EHPS has a short description and is categorised according to country, language, period, subject and type of source. The portal can be searched in a variety of ways. The listed websites can be accessed for free, though sometimes a registration is required.

Internet Archive
Access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format; includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 890,046 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.