Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Polysomnography
Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
1990-present. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, this resource covers over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals.
1999-present. Publisher of 276 peer-reviewed open access journals containing all original research articles that are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1982-present. Includes Emerging Infectious Diseases, Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, Preventing Chronic Disease and numerous other publications arranged by topic.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with some indexing back to 1937. It also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for more than 620 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier’s medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, delivering access to over 900 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images. This is an enhanced version of MD Consult with a proprietary medical taxonomy that delivers answers that relate directly to what you’re searching, and suggests other content and concepts you may have otherwise missed.
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
1978-present. Text-based monographs encompass more than 50 fields of clinically-significant pharmacology detail, applicable to many areas of specialization.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
1999-present. The federal government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)
2000-present. An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed.
Date coverage varies. This physiotherapy evidence database contains over 18,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
2000-present. Features DSM-5, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world, and The American Journal of Psychiatry.
This link to PubMed provides full-text linkouts from within PubMed for articles of all journals available through the Health Sciences Library.
This link to PubMed is designed for handheld and smartphone users with links to search tools and full-text articles available from the Health Sciences Library.
Provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions by specializing in reviews of clinical effectiveness research.
Date coverage varies. A site that provides for the full text of subscribed medical textbooks. (1 CONCURRENT USER ONLY. Idle time is 10 minutes only. When you are done, please log off. Otherwise, the next person will not be able to log in for 10 minutes.)
1997-present. A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence by simultaneously searching multiple sites.
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.
2000-present. A clinical decision support tool with nearly 1,200 visually presented conditions and over 22,000 medical images. The system will build a custom differential diagnosis for clinical staff as they enter specific findings about the patient. (Subscription of the "Regional Resource Center for Emergency Preparedness at Stony Brook")
Databases: Find the Best Library Databases for Your Research
Stony Brook University has a site license for EndNote, a bibliographic tool which enables users to quickly organize references while automatically building bibliographic documentation.
Managing PubMed Results Videos