Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
1990-present. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, this resource covers over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals.
Access back to Vol. 1 for each title. Critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 33 focused disciplines within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
1980-2007. Contains citations and abstracts for more than 5,000 international sources. Comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research, including traditional, experimental, and interdisciplinary areas of biology.
1999-present. Publisher of 233 peer-reviewed open access journals containing all original research articles that are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
1999-present. Full text for more than 180 high-impact journals from 125 publishers representing the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
1982-present. Includes Emerging Infectious Diseases, Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, Preventing Chronic Disease and numerous other publications arranged by topic.
2012-present. ClinicalKey is an enhanced version of MDConsult and MDConsult is no longer available. ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier’s medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, delivering access to over 900 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images. In general, journal coverage begins with 2007.
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
DynaMed® is a premiere clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. An essential database for systematic reviews.
2000-present. Includes major clinical guidelines for adult and pediatric populations, quality of care indicator tools, and clinical education program descriptions.
1978-present. Text-based monographs encompass more than 50 fields of clinically-significant pharmacology detail, applicable to many areas of specialization.
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
1999-present. The federal government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
2000-present. An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed.
1966-present. OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known Mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes.
This link to PubMed is designed for handheld and smartphone users with links to search tools and full-text articles available from the Health Sciences Library.
1995-present. Full text access for more than 2,500 scholarly journals. Citations and abstracts prior to 1995 and for journals outside of SBU’s full text subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.
1900s-present. Citations & abstracts. Largest substance database with more than 26 million substances, including 12 million organic substances. World's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. The link leads to instructions for accessing the database.
Training materials for using SciFinder-n can be found here: https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n
Contains ACP Smart Medicine, a decision-support tool designed for rapid point-of-care delivery of up-to-date, evidence-based guidance for clinicians. Also contains Pharmacology World, which provides access to videos to help master key concepts in pharmacology.
1997-present. A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence by simultaneously searching multiple sites.
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.
2000-present. A clinical decision support tool with nearly 1,200 visually presented conditions and over 22,000 medical images. The system will build a custom differential diagnosis for clinical staff as they enter specific findings about the patient. (Subscription of the "Regional Resource Center for Emergency Preparedness at Stony Brook")
This database includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
EndNote
Stony Brook University has a site license for EndNote, a bibliographic tool which enables users to quickly organize references while automatically building bibliographic documentation.
