A dictionary helps you find the meaning of a word.
A thesaurus helps you find other words with the same or opposite meaning.
You can borrow English/English book dictionaries and thesauruses from the library, but many people like internet dictionaries. Here are some good ones:
Here are some examples of book dictionaries in the library:
Longman Dictionary of English Idioms by
This dictionary contains an analysis of over 4500 idioms, plus over 6000 example sentences, many taken form authentic written and spoken sources. There is grammatical information on how to use idioms correctly, plus explanations of the origins of idioms, and cross-references.
English Pronouncing Dictionary by
A major new edition of the classic guide to English pronunciation: *Over 18, 000 new entries added *Full coverage of North American pronunciation *New, clearer layout *Stress patterns of thousands of compounds and idioms Areas of coverage have been selected to reflect today's interests and needs, and, as well as general vocabulary, include: *People: from ancient times to people in the news today *Places: thousands of British and US place names as well as major towns and cities of the world *Science and technology: including computing, medicine and communications * Literature: authors, place names and characters from major works of literature *Encyclopedic: religions, philosophies, historic events All pronunciations use the International Phonetic Alphabet.
What's the Difference? A British/American dictionary. by 
Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English by 
One-Hour Practice Tests for the Toefl Ibt by
This book will help students work toward a higher score, one hour at a time. To make practice even more effective, the first two practice tests are at pre-iBT level; practice test 3 is is near-iBT level; practice tests 4, 5, and 6 are at the same level as the actual TOEFL iBT. Each one-hour test includes its own answer key and a scoring worksheet.
What's Up? by
An essential reference tool for any international student attending college in the U.S., this informative dictionary features the most common slang and idioms used on college campuses across the nation. With its easy-to-use format, conversational tone, and real-world advice from international students, readers will be able to make a smooth transition to any U.S. institution. From social slang to academic slang and everything in between, this unique dictionary will enhance any international student's college experience. -- Introduction by international students studying in the U.S. -- Learn the idioms and slang you'll most certainly encounter at any U.S. institution -- Covers everything from dining hall terms to party speak -- Dictionary-like style makes this an easy-to-use and informative guide
Reading and Vocabulary Workbook for the TOEFL Exam by
Contains many graded reading passages - and comprehension, vocabulary, and specific reading skills exercises - to prepare students for the Reading Comprehension and Vocabulary sections of TOEFL.
TOEFL Grammar Workbook by
Designed for either independent or class use, this book focuses on the English language skills tested in the Structure and Written Expression sections of the TOEFL.
Here are some websites to help you with grammar:
Here are some websites to help you with pronunciation:
When we write academically or professionally (for school work, a professional magazine or publication, etc.) we follow certain writing rules and standards. These rules tell us how to format all parts of our professional writing (including what font and font size to use, how to make a list of books you read to create your paper, how to create a title page, etc.). These different styles of professional and academic writing are called writing styles.
There are many kinds of writing styles, for example APA, AMA, Chicago/Turabian, Harvard, and MLA. Each subject (like sciences or the humanities) likes to use a different writing style - and sometimes your professor wants you to use their favorite writing style! Please read your professor's syllabus carefully to check which writing style they want.
Here are the two most common writing styles:
MLA - A set of rules created by the Modern Language Association. It's usually used by people who study the humanities (language, history, literature, writing, etc.)
APA - A set of rules created by the American Psychological Association. It is usually used by people in the sciences.
Click the other tabs in this box for online and print resources to help you to write using MLA and APA writing styles.
MLA style was created by the Modern Language Association.
Websites that give information on MLA style and how to use it:
Here are some MLA resource books you can find in the library @ SBU:
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Cite Right by
Thousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly--and avoid plagiarism--when writing their research papers. This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use. Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations--and to present them accurately--in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; AAA (anthropology and ethnography); CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;and mathematics, computer science, and engineering. New sections have been added on IEEE and ASCE styles, often used in engineering. Each style is presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to the sciences and medicine. The second edition has also been updated to include a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches,this thoroughly revised edition is intended to appeal to anyone--student, professional, or academic--who needs an efficient, authoritative guide for citing sources across a wide range of disciplines.
APA style was created by the American Psychological Association.
Websites that give information on APA style and how to use it:
Here are some APA resource books you can find in the library @ SBU:
APA Style Simplified (eBook) by
This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each
Here are some web resources to help you with you writing:
Here are some book resources @ SBU to help you with you writing:
Line by Line by
The essential guide for all writers. With over 700 examples of original and edited sentences, this book provides information about editing techniques, grammar, and usage for every writer from the student to the published author.
Rules for Writers with Writing about Literature (Tabbed Version) by International students face many challenges after getting into an American university. Studying in the United States can be very different from studying at home for two reasons: language and the way that we think and write. Look at the rest of this page for resources to help you with your English and writing problems!
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
