A dictionary helps you find the meaning of a word.
You can borrow English/foreign language book dictionaries from the library, but many people like internet dictionaries. Here are some good examples:
Here are some examples of book dictionaries in the library:
International Spanish-English Dictionary by
The most respected Spanish/English dictionary in the world has been completely revised and updated. With over 200,000 entries, it is among the most comprehensive bilingual dictionaries available, covering the latest technical and scientific terms, thousands of regionalisms and idioms, geographic and biographic entries, a complete table of irregular Spanish verbs, elements of grammar, and a guide to pronunciation for both Spanish and English.
Concise English-Chinese, Chinese-English Dictionary by
With nearly 20,000 entries in each, this bilingual dictionary is ideal for travelers and students of Chinese or English. Among the dictionary's many features are: *Simplified Chinese characters as well as Pinyin romanization *Pronunciation using international phonetic symbols *Numerous examples of usage in both languages *Appendices including consonants and vowels of the Chinese phonetic alphabet, and names and abbreviations of China's provinces, regions, and municipalities *Handy pocket-sized format
Longman Korean-English Photo Dictionary by
This dictionary teaches English and the culture of North America with: -- Vivid full-color photographs bringing the culture to life -- More than 2,000 words -- covering 80 semantic categories -- providing the basics for teaching competency skills -- Authentic backdrops for developing a wide range of competencies -- Real-life contexts offering an easy way to master new vocabulary Longman Photo Dictionary components include: Teacher's Guide features: objectives for each unit, cultural comments, related idioms and expressions, additional vocabulary, grammar, and conversation practice. Workbooks and Audiocassettes: The Pronunciation and Spelling Workbooks can be used as a review of the simplest concepts. In the Beginning and Intermediate Workbooks, vocabulary is practiced and recycled. Each of the three workbooks has an accompanying audiocassette.
Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary by Chinese
Cantonese
Clara Tran, Science Librarian
yuet.tran@stonybrook.edu - 631.632.1331
Mandarin
Michael Huang, Global Library Initiatives &
Health Sciences Librarian
michael.b.huang@stonybrook.edu - 631.444.3794
There are a large variety of non-English language books and periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and journals). Look on the tabs below for some examples of materials available in other languages. Languages represented in the collection include: Spanish, Italian, French, German, Japanese, Chinese, Polish, Korean, Russian, Greek, and many others. Currently, most periodicals are kept near the Science and Engineering stacks on the second floor of the North Reading Room.
LexisNexis Academic (database) - Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes news in many different languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Danish, Czech, etc.
JSTOR (database) - Contains thousands of journals, including articles in German, French, Portuguese, Spanish, etc.
Kanopy (streaming video) - Many streaming videos that include ESL and foreign language items. They even have foreign films in French, Spanish, German, Italian, etc.!
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) (database) - North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.
DBPia (database) - DBpia is a Korean native scholarly database. Its digital content contains the exact same images and pagination as the original material and offers the advantage of convenient article citation and utilization.
Of course we have plenty of resources in English, but it is very important for both international students and native students and teachers to have resources in other languages too! Take a look below for some examples of resources in your home language!
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
