Remember, many online resources now provide citations formatted for your Works Cited or References page. Look for them when using databases and online encyclopedias.
Don't forget to include in-text citations too.
Zotero is "a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
Stony Brook University has a site license for EndNote, a bibliographic tool which enables users to quickly organize references while automatically building bibliographic documentation.
The library provides free EndNote workshops each semester. Check the library homepage for upcoming dates.
The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University provides easy to read and understand guides for different citation styles.
Use the menu on the left to navigate through the guide.
EasyBib also provides their APA and MLA guides for use.
In order to correctly cite your resources you will need to have at least two citations for each resource.
Works Cited Page - Lists all the resources referenced in your paper and provides all information needed for a reader to find the resource (author, date published, article title, journal title, volume, page numbers, etc.)
In-text Citations - Information within the body of the text that indicates the source of the information. This is abbreviated citation information, usually author last name and page number, that the reader can use to find the resource on the Works Cited page. In-text citations are used not only when you are quoting an author but always when you are paraphrasing.
Information on how to format in-text citations in MLA style.
Examples of in-text citation from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab:
The library has various style guides available to answer citation format questions.