Research & Subject Guides: WST398 Gender, Race, Nation and Borders: Immigration through a feminist lens: Primary Sources

About primary sources

Primary sources are documents or other sources of information that were created at the time of the event discussed. For more information about primary sources, see the online guide to primary sources.

Access to other research libraries

Stony Brook University Libraries is a member of various library consortiums which allows Stony Brook University students, faculty and staff to have access to and/or borrowing privileges at other research libraries. Please contact your library liaison or email reference for more information.

Primary sources on the Internet

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress collection of primary sources by topic. Coverage varies. Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music documenting the American experience.
Bexar Archives
The Bexar Archives are documents preserving the military, civil, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. The archives are an important resource for Spanish and Mexican history of Texas from 171-1836.
Farmworker Moverment Documentation Project
Primary source accounts by the United Farm Worker (UFW) volunteers involved in the movement. Includes photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and other historical documents related to UFW volunteers, Cesar Chavez and the Delano Grape Strikers.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and open access historical texts for educational use.

Newspaper archives on the Internet

Newspaper on microform at Stony Brook University Libraries

Use STARS catalog to determine location of historical sets and papers such as:

Early American Newspapers
Underground Newspaper Collection
Alternative Press Collection
New York Herald (1840-1919)
New York Tribune / Daily Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1966
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1925)
Le Monde (Paris, France) (1944-present)
Le Temps (Paris, France : 1861) (1861-1942)
Pravda (Moscow, Russia) (1917, 1921-1975)
New York Amersterdam News (1919-present)
Chicago Defender (1905-1966)
Pittsburgh Courier (1923-1947)

For more information see the Primary Sources guide.

Primary Sources
by Kristen J. Nyitray Last Updated Apr 13, 2024 343 views this year

Digital collections at Stony Brook University Libraries

Digital National Security Archive
1942-present. Fulltext. Over 63,000 of the most important declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.
Gale Primary Sources: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial-1950. Fulltext primary sources. The experiences of 1,325 women in 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources.
Oral History Online
Fulltext and citations. Indexes more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. Contains almost 281,000 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. Also has pointers to 4,100 audio and video files.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
1600-2000. Fulltext primary sources. Women's reform activities in the U.S. from colonial times to the present. Includes books, pamphlets, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.

Newspaper databases

America's Historical Newspapers
1755-1922. Fulltext. More than 135 historic newspapers from all 50 states. Titles include The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's anti-slavery newspaper; New Orleans Daily Creole, the first African-American newspaper in America; Siwinowe Kesibwi (Shawnee Star), the first newspaper printed wholly in a Native American language; and the Maryland Gazette, the oldest continuously published newspaper in America. Regional newspapers include The New York Herald, Irish World, and Jewish Daily News.
New York Times (Historical)
Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
Latin American Historical Newspapers
1805-1922. Full-text. Over 300 Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Combining Latin American Newspapers Series I & II, the collection features papers in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including key titles such as La Nacion, La Prensa and Vanguardia (Buenos Aires), Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro), O Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo), Mercurio (Santiago), La Prensa (Havana), La Patria, Mexican Herald and El Monitor Republicano (Mexico City) , El Peruano and West Coast Leader (Lima) and Venezuelan Herald (Caracas).
Gale Primary Sources: The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014
1785-1985. Full text. Digital edition of The Times (London) with searching capability and facsimile images of individual articles or the complete page. Includes parliamentary debates, editorials, birth and death notices, advertisements, illustrations/photos and classified ads. More than 7 million articles. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement, or the Times Literary Supplement.
Washington Post (Historical)
1877-1997. Fulltext. Digitized historical archive of The Washington Post. Complete issues, cover to cover, from its beginning in 1877 until 1997, including news articles, photos, advertisements, marriage announcements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. In searchable pdf format.

WST398 Gender, Race, Nation and Borders: Immigration through a feminist lens: Primary Sources