Special Collections and University Archives is committed to providing excellent research experiences and opportunities. Through the acquisition and preservation of diverse collections, and its comprehensive reference and outreach services, the department enriches the educational, scholarly, and entrepreneurial endeavors of Stony Brook University. Access is open and universal, to elevate the university's leadership role in scholarship, economic growth, technology and culture.
To cultivate learning, inspire discovery, and advance research through the acquisition and preservation of distinctive and renowned library collections.
Special Collections and University Archives aspires to be:
An integral and strategic partner in realizing Stony Brook University's five-part mission.
An internationally-recognized repository of exceptional research collections.
A premier library documenting Long Island's heritage.
Promote Academic Engagement
Empower and engage students with learning opportunities, in fulfillment of the “Experiential Learning (EXP+)” component of The Stony Brook Curriculum (SBC).
Partner on projects that foster community spirit and pride.
Promote to teaching faculty the integration of collections in course assignments.
Utilize online and social media platforms to highlight collections, programs and services.
Host and participate at programs for the university and surrounding communities.
Build, Preserve and Provide Access to Rich and Diverse Collections
Develop a plan to establish an open stacks Long Island Collection.
Recommend and select content for digitization initiatives.
Acquire, process, and catalog collections that document Long Island.
Establish project-based workflows with library departments to ensure the discoverability of collections.
Embark on a comprehensive collection assessment of the University Archives.
Develop Responsive Library Spaces for Diverse Communities
Utilize library spaces to exhibit collections.
Explore external venues to hold events and promote collections.
Continue to expand online content.
Foster an Innovative Culture of Learning and Assessment
Maintain currency with archival standards/best practices and with literature relevant to curatorial areas.
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
Except where otherwise noted, this work by SBU Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.