Promote Academic Engagement
Advise the campus community, and Library faculty and staff in preservation matters as they relate to the instructional and intellectual inquiry missions of the University.
- Showcase tutorials, related information, and other outreach services to the campus community through the Preservation website. (Fall 2015)
- Website Revision Completed: Access to the revised version is available at: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/preservation
- 1st Tutorials Section Revision Completed: New tutorials, outlining basic preservation techniques were developed and posted on the department’s website for use in outreach and internal training; the tutorials are available at: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/preservation/tutorials
- Departmental Tours, Completed/Ongoing: Tours of the Preservation Department and Facilities have been developed for internal and external groups; the formal scheduling component to be developed.
- Departmental Workshops, Tiny Books Workshop, Spring 2016 completed/ongoing: Three sections (two additional sections were held for SBU Libraries faculty and staff as well) of the Tiny Books Workshop were hosted by Preservation Technician/Bookbinder Arielle Hessler during the spring 2016 semester; the workshop highlighted techniques for the sewing and binding of books as art.
- Provide guidance on the preservation of faculty papers and research materials such as advising on binding operations for doctoral and masters’ works (e.g., History Department, Physics Department and individual faculty). (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Departmental Research Materials Assessment/Advisement, Ongoing: Formal program development under review; assistance provided to members of the following:
- SOMAS
- Center for New Literacy (SOJ).
- Commercial Binding Advisement, Ongoing: Formal program development under review; assistance provided to members of the following:
- History Department
- C. N. Yang Institute of Theoretical Physics
- Physics Department
- Art Department
- Library Branches.
- Conservation Advisement, Ongoing: Formal program development under review; assistance provided to members of the following:
- Sociology Department
- Faculty Emeriti.
- Preservation of Faculty Papers, Ongoing: Formal program development under review; assistance provided to members of the following:
- English Department
- Center for India Studies.
- Collaborate with Library faculty and staff in pursuit of grant opportunities, which include preservation components. (e.g., School of Journalism Curation Project) (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- School of Journalism Curation Project, Ongoing Support as requested.
- Additional grant support and pursuit placed on hold until new Associate Dean of Collection Management & Strategy hired.
Build, Preserve, and Provide Access to Rich and Diverse Collections
Monitor and advise the Library faculty and staff in preservation matters as they relate to the environment and condition of all library and related custodial assets.
- Update preservation policies and expand preventative measures to ensure the integrity and preservation of library holdings in all formats. (Fall 2015)
- Initial review of general policies completed, revision placed on hold until new Associate Dean of Collection Management & Strategy hired.
- Disaster Response Manual Revision, on schedule for completion in fall semester of 2016.
- Work with division heads and other appropriate organizational personnel in the continued maintenance and care of the library assets housed within branch and collection specific areas (e.g., Health Sciences Special Collections). (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Special Collections & University Archives Collections De-accession, Completed: Assisted in the identification of brittle newspapers /materials which could be de-accessioned.
- Main Stacks 1800s Project Review, Phase 1 Completed: Identification and review of monographs and serials housed within the Melville Main Stacks; Phase 2 bibliographic searching and collection assessment under way.
- Government Documents Collection Review, Completed: Collaborated with selectors and departmental staff to identify materials for reformatting/binding.
- Campus Newspapers Program, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed/ongoing: Preservation reformatting program that focuses on newspapers and serials published by Stony Brook University or its affiliates.
- Brittle Newspapers Program, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed/ongoing: Preservation reformatting program that focuses on historic newspapers and other serials published in the Three Village and Long Island Region.
- Archival Audio Preservation Program, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed/ongoing: Preservation reformatting program that focuses on the preservation of audio materials created by Stony Brook University.
- Video/Film Preservation Project, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed: In-house preservation reformatting project that focuses on the preservation of ¾ inch Umatic videotape materials created by Stony Brook University.
- Custom Enclosure Program, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed/ongoing: Custom enclosures were made for materials from the following collections:
- Government Documents Collection
- Maps Collection
- Music Library
- Special Collections & University Archives.
- Collaborate with appropriate organizational personnel in the monitoring and oversight of environmental conditions within organizational and affiliate facilities, and make recommendations on changes. (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Environmental Monitoring Program Expansion completed/ongoing: Monitoring of temperature, humidity, UV/light levels and airborne pollutants expanded through the installation of additional equipment/software, including the following:
- PEM 2 Monitors
- Hanwell UV/Light Data loggers
- Hanwell Dust Monitor Data loggers.
- Advise the appropriate organizational units on the information life cycle and digital preservation procedures to ensure the longevity of library digital assets. (e.g., Institutional Repository [transition period]). (Initial, Fall 2015, ongoing 2016-2018)
- Stony Brook University Institutional Repository Oversight Transition, completed: Completed the spring 2015 departmental work, and transitioned final oversight of the Stony Brook University Institutional Repository to Library IT; provided recommendations to the Associate Dean for Collection Management & Strategy.
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations Program, completed: Provided support and recommendations to the SB Graduate School; provided recommendations to the Associate Dean for Collection Management & Strategy.
- Campus Website Documentation Program, completed/ongoing: Made recommendations/collaborated with members of Special Collections University Archives on the documentation efforts of the campus web presence.
- Digital Preservation/Curation System Development, ongoing: Initial review of current digital preservation systems completed, and primary system selected; secondary systems and digital preservation policies under review.
Develop Responsive Library Spaces for Diverse Communities
Provide a department that is a safe and healthy workspace for all faculty and staff.
- Develop and maintain suitable preservation laboratory space, tools and technologies to meet the needs of the organization and campus community. (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Equipment expansion, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed: Additional preservation/conservation equipment purchased to allow department expansion of binding operations, custom enclosures program, encapsulation and other support.
- Air Filtration System Implementation, 2015-2016 fiscal year completed: Installed stand-alone air filters in the preservation laboratory and adjacent collection staging areas to reduce airborne pollutants.
- Collaborate with appropriate library divisions to refine the department’s internal reformatting laboratory space. (Fall 2015 – Spring 2016)
- Audio/Video Reformatting, completed: Collaborated with Library IT to update A/V equipment for the assessment/reformatting of archival audio and video formats.
- Reformatting Space, completed: Refined copy stand and digital photography equipment to allow for reformatting of fragile materials.
- Collaborate with appropriate library divisions to refine the department’s emergency response storage locations. (Fall 2016)
- Emergency Response Kits/Materials completed: Additional emergency response kits and materials storage locations have been established in all branch libraries; team members have been assigned to liaison of all floors and main collection areas within Melville Library and branches.
- Collaborate with appropriate library divisions to refine general and special storage areas to ensure the longevity of all custodial assets and materials. (e.g., Health Sciences Special Collections). (Fall 2016
)
- Health Sciences Cage Collection & Special Collection Area, placed on hold until new Associate Dean of Collection Management & Strategy and Director of HSL hired.
- Special Collection & University Archives Storage Room Project, Completed: Appropriate shelving caps were installed within the storage area to protect collections from airborne pollutants.
Foster an Innovative Culture of Learning and Assessment
Educate Library faculty and staff in new and evolving curatorial and preservation standards and practices.
- Collaborate with Resource Management catalogers to revise the Preservation Metadata Schema to be used in cataloging born digital assets, and to monitor and assess its effectiveness. (e.g., Training sessions in preservation metadata schema). (Spring 2017)
- Preservation Metadata Schema Development, commenced/ongoing: Collaborate with members of the Metadata and Cataloging Department on the implementation of a revised preservation metadata schema in support of the preservation of digital projects and assets; placed on hold until the hire of the Associate Dean of Collection Management & Strategy.
- Research and explore evolving preservation techniques and standards in support of the preservation of all library assets and formats. (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Digital Preservation/Curation System Development, ongoing: Initial review of current digital preservation systems completed, and primary system selected; secondary systems and digital preservation policies under review.
- Represent the libraries at appropriate regional and national professional meetings, related invited committees, and report back to the University Libraries as appropriate. (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Departmental Faculty and Staff developed a half day workshop sponsored by the Long Island Library Resources Council Conservation & Preservation Committee focused on basic preservation principles; access to the workshop’s presentation is available at: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/ld.php?content_id=21135684
- Participate in the mentorship and training of archival and preservation interns. (2015 – 2016 academic year, Ongoing)
- Preservation Intern/Preservation Assistantship, 2015-2016 academic year completed/ongoing: Hosted a preservation internship/apprenticeship during the academic year that covers basic preservation practices and project work; final project entailed the creation of custom enclosures for MASIC and Government Documents works.
- Continue and expand support for professional development for preservation faculty and staff to ensure that they maintain the skills to meet the future needs of the organization and the campus community. (Ongoing, 2015-2018)
- Departmental Faculty and Staff served and/or attended the following regional and national professional meetings:
- Long Island Library Resources Council Preservation & Conservation Committee
- New York Librarians’ Association Annual Conference
- American Libraries Association Mid-Winter Meeting
- Center for the Book Arts.
