It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for the study of theatre and theatre arts.
Comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. Offers historical information about theatres and various statistics related to Broadway. Information mainly derived from theatre programs (often from a production's opening night). Supplemental information from newspaper and magazine reports, theatrical text books, interviews with theatre professionals, and League archives. Created by the Research Department of The Broadway League.
News about the theatre industry, both for the U.S. and internationally; Tony Awards; Obituaries; Broadway Grosses; Stage to Screens; Casting & Jobs information; a Who's Who section; a Multimedia section including Photo Galleries, Audio, and Video; and more.
Links to Associations & Organizations; Design & Stagecraft; Educational Theatre & Children's Theatre; Full text play Sources; Indexes to Internet Theatre Resources; International Theatre; Libraries, Archives & Museums; Musical Theatre; play Indexes; Playwriting & Dramaturgy; Theatre Companies and more.
The APGRD Database offers information on more than 9000 productions of ancient Greek and Roman drama performed internationally on stage, screen, and radio from the Renaissance to the present day. It also aims to provide, where possible, a range of bibliographical references as sources of information on each production (for example, newspaper reviews, academic publications, actors' biographies, and websites). Search for: Productions, Scripts, Translations and People.
Over 13,000 images of items, including stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period (over 3,000 images). Also included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records.
Multimedia anthology illustrating the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini.
Detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference material are just some of the features available on the site. The site also contains film analysis, original content, information on the top films and most memorable movie scenes, "best of…" articles, and the most popular film quotes in all genres of film. Its many resources include a comprehensive overview of film history, a complete survey of the Academy Awards (Oscars), milestones and turning points in the industry, and background and descriptions for hundreds of classic Hollywood/American and other English-language movies from the last one hundred years.
Dedicated to the art of motion picture film-making and most specifically to that one particular individual calling the shots from behind the camera - the film director. The 1,000-plus directors listed at the web site range from the great geniuses of cinema (Godard, Welles, Hitchcock, etc.) to the great studio auteurs of the 40's and 50's (Hawks, Siodmak, Fuller, etc.), to the European masters (Buñuel, Renoir, Bresson), to the modern-day breed (Tarantino, The Coen Brothers, Kiarostami).
Includes Writing Tools (ask the expert, the craft, the hotlist, member sites, showrunner training, technically speaking, writers workbench, and written by) and Writer's Resources (Agency List, Contracts & Compensation, Credits, Getting Paid, Indie Film, New Media, Working Rules). Good selection of Screenwriting Links.
Links to hundreds of free, downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, anime, unproduced and radio shows. A screenwriter's resource.