Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Use This Guide
Hello! This guide is designed to give you easier access to the extensive resources and services available to you through Stony Brook University Libraries and across the internet. It highlights items in the library collection and brings together web sites on various topics. If you have suggestions for other resources and services, please let me know. Use the tab menu at the top of the page to access:
- books & e-books
- online journals (subscription and free)
- web resources
- reference shelf
- and more.
If you need help or have a comment you can contact me -- my information is on the right sidebar.
Library Delivery to Southampton & Manhattan
So, you want Roberto Bolaño's book, The Romantic Dogs: 1980-1998, or the Criterion Collection 2-DVD edition of Jean-Luc Godard's À bout de souffle - how do you get it from the Main Library? Follow the easy instructions at our Inter-Campus Delivery page.
And remember, if the Library doesn't have the book, article, video or other item you're looking for, we can get it for you from another libray for free. Just register for an InterLibrary Loan account today.
New Streaming Theatre in Video Collection
Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Information on over a million movies and television programs, and more than 2.5 million people associated with the motion picture industry, including actors, producers, directors, screenwriters, cinematographers, composers and others.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Literature Online (LION)
1280-present. Fulltext. Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from 1280 to the present day. Also contains 333 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. With all 38 of Shakespeare's plays in dramatised audio recordings and nearly 900 Poets on Screen filmed readings.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Collection of critical essays, biographies, timelines and other resources. Includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and The Dictionary of Literary Biography. Selected material from Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
Related Resources and Subject Guides