Skip to Main Content
Library Databases for the MFA in Theatre & Film
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Cambridge Journals Online
1990s-present. Access to 500 fulltext, peer-reviewed journals and 20 books that cover a broad range of subjects across the humanities, arts, and sciences.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Literature Online (LION)
1280-present. Fulltext. Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from 1280 to the present day. Also contains 333 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. With all 38 of Shakespeare's plays in dramatised audio recordings and nearly 900 Poets on Screen filmed readings.
Literature Resource Center
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Collection of critical essays, biographies, timelines and other resources. Includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and The Dictionary of Literary Biography. Selected material from Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
American Film Scripts Online
American Film Scripts makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Most of the scripts have never been published before, and nowhere else are they available online. Alexander Street Press has developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others. The collection includes 1,000 film scripts, and extends back to the earliest silent films to the present. The collection’s powerful search structure includes searching by character, scene, race, nationality, age, subject, year of writing, and other elements.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Oxford Journals
Over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
Access note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
1962-present. Citations only. The most comprehensive, worldwide listing of publications on Shakespeare. Over 114,230 annotated entries, covering editions, films, staging of plays, poems, literary criticism, history, and reviews.
