Research & Subject Guides: Respiratory Care: Mobile Apps

Mobile Applications for Respiratory Care

AccessMedicine Mobile
Features an essential portion of the site's content for mobile browsers. Create a personal profile name and password at the "My AccessMedicine" tab.
Docwise
Read your favorite medical journals in one place. Create topics and then receive articles with automatic updates. Quickly share articles with colleagues and save abstracts to read offline. Available for the iPhone and iPad.
Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS)
An application from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Draft regulatory approaches to mobile medical apps.
Lexicomp Online
Drug information available for a wide variety of handheld devices.
NOTE: You may receive a "Subscription Expired" message within 30 days of installing the app. This is only alerting you that the 30-day trial you downloaded initially has expired. Your subscription has not expired and will be completely functional after this period.

MedOne Education
Library users can download books to their Android tablet in addition to an iPad or PC. Install the free iPublishCentral Reader app from the Google Play store (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.impelsys.ioffline). From within the university wireless network launch your Android tablets web browser and navigate to http://ebooks.thieme.com/bookshelf. Browse the list of all available titles and select download next to the title you wish to download. You will then be directed to the download page. On the download page, click on the download icon. The iPublishCentral Reader app will then open and the file will be downloaded to your bookshelf.

National Library of Medicine Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites
Includes mobile-optimized Web interfaces for AIDSinfo, MedlinePlus, PubMed, TOXNET, WISER, and many other health resources.
Natural Standard
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in the database.
Nature Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
The nature.com reader apps have been designed to make reading scientific content on the iPhone, iPad or iPod touch easier. News, abstracts and open access content is always free to view, full text articles can be accessed through individual journal subscriptions.
PsychiatryOnline
The "My POL" login for mobile device users will only be required when accessing from outside the onsite wireless network.
PubMed for Handhelds
This link to PubMed is designed for handheld and smartphone users with links to search tools and full-text articles available from the Health Sciences Library.
PubMed for Handhelds Web App Instructions
Read by QxMD
Their site promotes “seamless automatic one-tap access to full text PDFs available” for a lot of universities (including Stony Brook University). After you download the app you are asked to create an account by adding information about your profession, specialty, and institution. It is available from the App Store.
Science Online
Read current abstracts of Science magazine articles. Search job listings and news articles. Full-text not available through the application.
SciFinder Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Search SciFinder on your smart phone. Mobile Friendly site. Supported on Android OS, Apple iOS, Blackberry OS, Nokia and SimbianOS, and Windows 7.
STAT!Ref
Search AAFP Conditions A to Z, ACP PIER and ACS Surgery: Principles & Practice from the iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, or Android phones and tablets.
Taylor & Francis Online Mobile
Provides mobile access to content, readers can link to our institutional subscribed content via a quick pairing process.
TRIP Database
A clinical search tool to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
UpToDate Anywhere
- This link opens in a new window
Click on "Log in/Register" and complete the registration fields. You must register from within the Stony Brook network in order to gain access to the mobile apps and accrue CME credits. Complete verification by logging in to UpToDate from a Stony Brook network computer at least once every 30 days.
VisualDx
Free app for iPad, iPhone, and Android to build a custom differential diagnosis for over 1,200 visually presented conditions by entering specific patient findings.
Web of Science Mobile
Search the SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present), and MEDLINE.
Wiley Health Sciences Journal Apps
Access instant real-time content updates for Wiley journals such as those from the American Cancer Society and the American College of Rheumatology.

Featured App

Appropriate Use of Social Media in Medical Practice

Model Policy Guidelines for the Appropriate Use of Social Media and Social Networking in Medical Practice
The Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) House of Delegates adopted new policy guidelines on the appropriate use of social media and social networking sites by physicians during the FSMB’s 2012 Annual Meeting on April 28. The guidelines provide recommendations for state medical boards to consider in educating their licensees on the proper use of social media and social networking websites.

Respiratory Care

Mobile Applications for Respiratory Care

Featured App

Appropriate Use of Social Media in Medical Practice

Library

Resources

Follow Us