Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Respiratory Care

Guide to the literature of respiratory care

Selected Textbooks

 

Cardiopulmonary Anatomy & Physiology: Essentials for Respiratory Care

WF 101 D441c 2008

Divided into three sections: the cardiopulmonary system, advanced cardiopulmonary concepts

and related areas, and the cardiopulmonary system during unusual environmental conditions.

 

Chest Disease: Test and Syllabus

WF 18.2 C5252 2007

Focuses on cases that represent the more common diagnostic problems facing the radiologist

who deals with chest disease.

 

Clinical Application of Mechanical Ventilation

WB 342 C456c 2006

Discusses new innovations in equipment and clinical practice to meet different patient care needs

with various strategies of ventilation.

 

Clinical Manifestations and Assessment of Respiratory Disease

WF 140 D441c 2006

The student is provided with the basic knowledge and helpful tools to gather clinical data

systemically and then document essential treatment steps clearly.

 

Clinical Tuberculosis

WF 200 C641 2008

Contains a synoptic and definitive account of the latest methods and practice in the control of

tuberculosis for public health and those in clinical practice settings.

 

Color Atlas and Text of Pulmonary Pathology

WF 17 C719 2007

A compilation of common, rare, and newly described lung diseases, both neoplastic and nonneoplastic

in one volume.

 

Egan’s Fundamentals of Respiratory Care

RESV WB 342 E28 2009

In addition to providing the fundamental knowledge for the safe and effective administration of

inhalation therapy, the book emphasizes the role of respiratory care in the management and

prevention of disease. Pathophysiology and patient assessment, common clinical problems

encountered by respiratory care practitioners, basic therapeutics—Airway Pharmacology and

Aerosol Drug Administration, and respiratory care in alternative settings are also covered.

 

Emergency Airway Management

WF 145 E53 2009

Specific chapters address key issues such as airway assessment, oxygen therapy, basic airway

management techniques and indications for intubation.

 

Fishman’s Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders

WF 600 F537 2008

Organized to ensure that the specialized as well as the general aspects of pulmonary medicine

are expertly covered and well presented.

 

Handbook of Tuberculosis: Clinics, Diagnostics, Therapy and Epidemiology

WF 200 H2353 2008

The World Health Organization reports that about 1.7 million deaths occur from this disease each

year, this comprehensive handbook is written for both scientists and health care practitioners.

 

Integrated Cardiopulmonary Pharmacology

QV 150 C684i 2008

Contains extensive information on dosages, drug actions, uses and interactions etc. and includes

more detailed pharmacokinetics, contraindications and side effects.

 

Kendig’s Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children

WS 280 K331 2006

Provides coverage of the latest treatments and respiratory care for infants and children with both

common and rare childhood disorders of the lungs.

 

Laboratory Exercises for Competency in Respiratory Care

WF 25 B9871 2009

Provides procedural competency evaluations providing technical and communication skills

necessary for theory and practice.

 

Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway

WF 145 M2665 2008

A text that presents a consistent approach to the difficult and failed airway in all clinical settings

with the basic principle being oxygenation.

 

Management of the Mechanically Ventilated Patient

WF 145 P616m 2007

Topics are addressed in an easy-to-read and understandable manner for both the beginning

student and the advanced practitioner.

 

Mechanical Ventilation

WF 145 M486 2009

Each chapter includes discussions of new technology and proposes best practices using

evidence-based practice.

 

Non-Invasive Respiratory Support Techniques

WF 145 E76n 2009

A practical guide to oxygen therapy, non-invasive ventilation and continuous airway pressure

clearly defining when and how various treatments are used.

 

Pulmonary Infection in the Immunocompromised Patient: Strategies for Management

WF 600 P983495 2009

Reviews current management options for immunocompromised patients with pulmonary

complications.

 

Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials

WF 600 W514p 2008

Emphasizes the function of the diseased lung, with appropriate consideration of the relationship

of structure to function. Provides the essentials of what students need to know.

 

Pulmonary Physiology and Pathophysiology: An Integrated, Case-Based Approach

WF 140 W518p 2007

The book is focused on pulmonary physiology and pathophysiology but also includes some

anatomy, pharmacology, and pathology to illustrate case histories of patients.

 

Rapid Interpretation of Ventilator Waveforms

WF 141 R218 2007

It is intended as a complement to a mechanical ventilation textbook and as a reference

convenient to carry in the clinical setting.

 

Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology: Foundations for Clinical Practice

WF 102 B365r 2007

This book provides respiratory therapy students and practicing therapists with a physiological

foundation to support clinical practice.

 

Respiratory Disease: A Case Study Approach to Patient Care

WF 140 R43410 2007

The intended audience is students enrolled in a respiratory care program, and practitioners

preparing for the National Board for Respiratory Care exams.

 

Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials

RESV WF 102 W518r 2008

This book serves as the gold standard for medical students, health science students, residents,

and practitioners on the functions of the respiratory system. It’s a concise, authoritative and clearwritten

resource.

 

Respiratory Care Reference Materials

AHA Guide to the Health Care Field

RESV WX 22 AA1 A53 2007

A guide to United States hospitals, health care systems, networks, alliances, health

organizations, agencies, and providers.

 

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health for students and

professionals. Available from the Health Sciences Library list of eBooks.

 

Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Resources

http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/resp.html

Hardin MD, provided by the University of Iowa, serves as a “directory of directories”. It intends to

contain the best lists of information in health and medicine, links to respiratory system and lung

diseases section.

 

Health Care Careers Directory

REF W 22 AA1 H434 36th ed. 2008-2009

Contains indispensable information on 8,000 U.S. educational programs in 77 health professions,

including respiratory therapist and respiratory therapist assistant.

 

Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists

REF W 22 AA1 O32 40th Ed. 2008

A directory of board certified physicians authorized by the 24 member boards of the American

Board of Medical Specialties.

 

Reported Tuberculosis in the United States

REF WF 200 R425 2006

Presents summary data for TB cases reported to the Division of TB Elimination of the Centers for

Disease Control and Prevention.

 

Top Doctors: New York Metro Area

REF W 22 AN7 T673 2006

Provides detailed information on more than 6,000 well-trained, highly competent physicians from

which to choose for healthcare needs.

Writing

American Medical Association Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors

REF WZ 345 A511 2007

Helpful style manual for writing research papers in field of Respiratory Care, including style

recommendations for electronic resources and electronic publishing issues.

 

The APA Style of Documentation: A Pocket Guide

RESV WZ 345 P9575a 2010

This guide demonstrates the fundamentals of documentation for collegiate writing and helpful

sections on finding, evaluating, and integrating sources.

 

Concise Rules of APA Style

RESV WZ 39 C744 2010

Following these guidelines you can express your ideas in a form and style familiar to a broad

range of readership groups.

 

Documentation Manual for Writing SOAP Notes in Occupational Therapy

WB 39 B726d 2005

This manual is designed as a teaching tool and workbook for a systematic approach to one form

of documentation, the SOAP note.

 

How to Write a Paper

WZ 345 H68 2008

Covers the basics of scholarly writing including structure, writing various kinds of papers, and the

publishing process from start to finish publication.

 

Mastering APA Style: Instructor’s Resource Guide

RESV WZ 345 M423 2010

The American Psychological Association’s answer to the expressed need of both instructors and

those who need to learn APA style.

 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

RESV WZ 345 A512p 2010

This book assists with content, preparation, and organizational structure of papers and

manuscripts. Check with your instructor to find if there is a preference for a particular style format

before submitting your papers.

 

A Writer’s Reference

RESV PE 1408 H2778 2007

A tabbed handbook that teaches the mechanics of writing, the basics of academic writing,

sentence style, punctuation, and researching.

 

Writing a Biomedical Research Paper: A Guide to Structure and Style

WZ 345 B927w 2009

Content by itself is not enough, style makes all the difference with readers in keeping their

interest.

 

Writing Patient/Client Notes: Ensuring Accuracy in Documentation

WB 18.2 K43wa 2009

This book is written to help new practitioners learn the skill of writing patient care notes to

document patient care.

 

Writing with Style: APA Style Made Easy

REF HM 586 S9985w 2008

This book calls attention to the style of writing used in professional journals and leads them

through a process of collecting examples of words, phrases, and sentences that illustrate the

essential stylistic components.

Health Sciences Library Catalog Search

Quick search the HSL Catalog for books, journal titles and other materials.

Catalog Home | Advanced Search