Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

Primary Sources: SBU History

A Guide to Primary Sources at Stony Brook University Libraries and more.

SBU History

Yearbook of Stony Brook University Specula, 1969
Specula Yearbooks (1957/1961-2006)


Newspapers

The Stony Brook Press (digitized: 1979-2016)
The Stony Brook Statesman (digitized: 1958-2019)
Blackworld (digitized:1979-2012)


Undergraduate Course Bulletins

Bulletins from 1958 to 2013
Bulletins from 2009 to the present


Historical Information

About Stony Brook University 
Early History
Historical Timeline
Traditions


Books

Gelber, Sidney. 
Politics and Public Higher Education in New York State: Stony Brook - A Case History. New York: P. Lang, 2001.
[Main Stacks, Main Library Reference, and Archives: LC175 .N5 G45 2001]

Nyitray, Kristen J., and Ann M. Becker. 
Stony Brook, State University of New York. Charleston, S.C.: Arcadia Pub, 2002.  
[Main Stacks, Main Library Reference, Main Library Stacks Cage, Special Collections, and Archives: LD3840 .S8 N94 2002]

Rosenthal, Joel Thomas. 
From the Ground Up: A History of the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Port Jefferson, NY: 116 Press, 2004.
[Main Stacks, Archives, and Special Collections: LD3840 .S8 R6 2004]


Documents

Chemistry at Stony Brook from SUCOLI to SBU: A Memoir by Francis T. Bonner
Meeting the Increasing Demand for Higher Education in New York State: A Report to the Governor and the Board of Regents. Heald, Henry T.;  Gardner, John W.; Folsom, Marion B.  [ Albany]: The Committee, 1960). Also known as the "Heald Report."
State of the University Address, 2007  (50th anniversary of Stony Brook University)


Websites

University Archives, Stony Brook University Libraries

Stony Brook University Fact Book


Discovery Catalog: Stony Brook University Libraries

Find and locate library and research materials in SEARCH.
After "searching" a term or phrase from the library homepage, use the limiter/facet on the left side of the results page to narrow your results: "Library" then "Special Collections" or "Archives."