Developed through collaboration among Harvard University, Academia Sinica, and Peking University. CBDB with biographical information about approximately 491,000 individuals as of May 2021, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries.
Available on-site ONLY in the New York Public Library: Research Libraries, a unique image database that includes Chinese pamphlets, picture books and other propaganda issued during the early period of the People's Republic of China.
With over 9,600 items, Harvard-Yenching's Chinese rare book collection includes Chinese books from the 13th to 19th centuries covering classics & history, philosophy, and unique manuscripts.
An online open-access digital library with over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters. This is the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence. An excellent source for pre-Qin and Han dynasty texts
A project by the East Asian Library of the University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS) to create an open dataset consisting of data selected from the ULS collection of Chinese village gazetteers covering the years from 1949 to the present. The current dataset covers 1,500 villages and was uploaded in September 2021.
This open-access tool helps researchers locate digital collections for Chinese studies and easily navigate resources such as archival materials, oral history, rare books, images and datasets.
An open access database with high-definition images, videos, three-dimensional and other data. It offers access to 30 grottoes date to as early as the Northern Wei dynasty (386~535). The Dunhuang Research Academy has completed digitalizing 150 caves.
Developed and hosted at CATS, Heidelberg University. Included 286 publications in film, literature, family life, medicine, fashion, art, foreign press etc.
An open access database from the Center for Research Libraries via East View Global Press Archive covers the Chinese mainland from 1911 to 1949. It contains 292 titles and 70,000 issues of newspapers.
These are pocket sized picture-story books first published by a Shanghai publisher in the 1920s. The Library has collected more than 150 titles of lian huan hua that were published mostly during the Cultural Revolution, particularly between 1971-1976.
