Research & Subject Guides: LI State Veteran's Home: Databases

Military Related Databases

Search for articles or studies using one of the following databases:

Military & Government Collection
Date coverage varies. Fulltext, citations & abstracts. Current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Includes periodicals, academic journals, and other sources, such as Economist Intelligence Unit, CountryWatch, and U.S. Government publications.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.

PTSDPubs (formerly PILOTS)
An index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events produced by the National Center for PTSD.
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy 1960-1975
Associated Press, Saigon Bureau Records; CIA Records and Research Reports; State Department; National Security Council; John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files; etc.

Core Medical Databases

CINAHL and PubMed are your gold standard databases. CINAHL focuses more closely on nursing literature and PubMed covers medical literature more widely. You should start most searches with CINAHL or PubMed. Web of Science covers an even wider range of subjects, from business management and social work. The others are specialty databases, so read their descriptions to see if they're right for your search.