Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Integrating Library Resources Into Brightspace

This guide will show you how to link to and embed library resources within your Brightspace classes.

Linking to Articles in Databases

You can add direct links in Brightspace to articles in many of our databases. The trick is to make sure that you are using using stable URLs (also called durable URLs or permalinks). You can find the stable URL for an article in a few different places depending on the database vendor. 

Below are the steps from a variety of different database platforms available through the library. Once you've copied a stable URL, you can add it into your Brightspace modules just as you would any other URL.

Databases

EBSCO databases

1. Click on Permalink in the righthand menu when you are viewing the article.

2. Copy and paste the URL from the Permalink field.

Permalink location in EBSCO databases.

 

ProQuest databases

1.Once you've found the article, click on the Abstract/Details tab.

2. Scroll down to find and copy the Document URL.

Document URL in ProQuest databases.

JSTOR

Copy the URL that is listed under the DOI on the article level page. 

Article link in JSTOR database.

NEXIS UNI

1. From the article page, click on Actions and choose Link to this page.

2. Copy the URL from the resulting pop up window.

Page link in Nexis Uni.