Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Business

A guide to Business databases and other resources available from the Unversity Libraries.

If you need:

Try using:

A Good Place to Start
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) and Business Insights: Essentials provide a variety of company information in an easy to use format.
Annual Report
For annual report (10K) required by SEC, use Edgar or Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic).
For glossy annual report for shareholders, see the company’s website
Background Information
Books, encyclopedias (Britannica Online,Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2nd Edition, dictionaries (Oxford English Dictionary, The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online, A Dictionary of Economics) or other reference material.
Business Plan Information
Business Plans Handbook, Write a Business Plan
Case Studies
Business Source Complete: limit search results to "case study" and add your search terms; ProQuest Basic Search: using Advanced Search option, limit search results to “business case” "case study" (under Document Type) and add your search terms.
Chief Officers
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), company's 10K
Company Profiles
Business Insights: Essentials, Business Source Complete (MarketLine company profile), Nexis Uni (select Company Dossier in drop-down box links)
Competitor information
Business Insights: EssentialsBusiness Source Complete (MarketLine company profile), Mintel, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Country Reports
Business Source Complete, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Customer Demographics/ Consumer Market Segmentation
Mintel, company website, news articles.
Note: When using Mintel, you may have to search by industry or product rather than by company name.
Employee Information
10k. Check the company's annual report which sometimes includes the number of employees by location.
Try contacting the company's HR department by phone or email to see if they can provide the information you need. Contact information for the company should be available from their website.
Try accessing Vault through Handshake from the Career Center.
Financials
Business Insights: Essentials, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), company website (look for the 10k or the annual report)
Harvard Business Review
Business Source Complete
Harvard Business Cases
Order through Interlibrary Loan
History (company)
Business Insights: Essentials, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Industry reports
Business Insights: Essentials, Business Source Complete, First ResearchNexis Uni
Investment reports
Business Insights: Essentials, Business Source CompleteNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Lawsuits and legal actions
10K lawsuits section, Business Insights: EssentialsNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Long Term Plans
10K, company website
Market Share information
Business Insights: Essentials
Market reports
Business Source Complete
Marketing information
Mintel, Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns. Volume 2, Search the library catalog for resources on Marketing
News and articles from trade journals
Business Insights: Essentials, Business Source Complete, The Wall Street JournalNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Operations information
Business Insights: Essentials, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), company web site
Parent/subsidiary companies
Business Insights: Essentials, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), company web site, 10K
Regulatory information
Business.gov, the SEC, OSHA, the FDA and other government websites
Scholarly research
Academic, Scholarly or Peer-reviewed journals; electronic from databases Business Source Complete, JSTOR, Business Insights: Essentials
Note: JSTOR is a back issues database and won’t have the most current research.
SEC filings (10K, 8K, Def14A, etc.)
The SEC’s search site Edgar, Business Insights: Essentials, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), the company’s web site
SEC Violations
SEC Litigation, Business Insights: Essentials, Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) 
SIC or NAICS Code
Business Insights: EssentialsNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Statistics
ProQuest Statistical Insight, USA.gov – Business Data and Statistics, U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, other government websites
For marketing statistics use Mintel
Stock prices
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), Yahoo! Finance, Reuters Finance, or company web site
Survey/poll questions
Polling the Nations, Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL), ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats)
Business Source Complete, Business Insights: Essentials (link is on company profile page)
Trade associations
Business Insights: Essentials, Mintel
Wall Street Journal fulltext online
The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest

How Do I Get Something SBU Doesn't Have?

First use the IM widget on the library homepage or on this guide and have a librarian double check that we don't have it.

If the Stony Brook University Libraries don't have an article or a book that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan service.

We will request a copy from another library.

Request an item or set up an account.

Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.