TA Library Resources: Finding Books & Articles

Catalog Quick Search

Find books, journals, DVDs, collections and more in our catalogs. | HELP

E-JOURNALS: We have over 70,000 E-journals

• Search by Title: Shows you the different databases that have the title and for which dates.
• By Subject: On the library homepage, click on the E-Journals tab, then click on E-journals home. Towards the bottom of the screen is a drop-down to search for e-journals by subject area.

 Article Linker & Citation Linker: Tools that help you find online full text articles.

• Article Linker takes you from the citation in one database to the full text available in another. Wherever you see an Article Linker icon, or a “Link to fulltext” link, the Article Linker software will try to automatically make a connection from the citation to the full text for you.
• Citation Linker is an online form available from our E-Journals page. If you have a citation and want to see if we provide access to the full text, use the Citation Linker.

The Library has over 300 databases.  From the Library Homepage, click on Databases A-Z

You can search for databases two ways:

• Search by Title: Click on the letter of the alphabet.  Example: click on “J” for JSTOR.
• Browse By Subject: From the dropdown menu, choose a subject area, such as Music, or English & American Lit, etc.  You’ll get a list of databases that should be useful in that subject area.

Searching Multiple Databases Search numerous databases from various vendors at the same time.

Use the ARTICLES search box on the library homepage for 10 large, general databases.

Alerts: Many databases allow you to create alerts.  You will need to set up an account.

• For searches – In EBSCO databases, click on “Search History and Alerts”
• For new issues of a journal – In EBSCO, click on the journal title, then “Journal Alert”

SEARCH Everything

Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP

WorldCat is a catalog of most libraries in the U.S. & Canada and many from other countries. Find books, DVDs, web sites, musical scores, archival material and more.

There are two versions of WorldCat, the subscription version from First Search, which is below and which I recommend, and the free version.  If you find something you need while searching in WorldCat, and we don't own it, we can usually get it from another library. See InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to learn more. One great feature of the First Search version is that it automatically fills out your ILL request form.