TA Library Resources: Using the SBU Libraries

SEARCH is the library discovery system.

Stony Brook ID card = library card

Circulation Policy: 98 books, semester loan (except branches) for grads and instructors

Renewals: 3 times if no one is waiting for the material. Can be done online.

Fines: $0.25/day, $85/book – Card is blocked at $5

Recalls: must be done in person at a Circ desk; Holds can be done online.

Photocopies: $.10 a page. You can put money on your student ID for copy machines. Copy machines also accept change and bills. The Photocopy Center is on the 3rd Floor of Melville, near Circulation.

WELCOME to Stony Brook University Libraries.

OUR COLLECTION includes over 2 million volumes; another 4 million volumes in microforms; over 300 databases; 70,000+ e-journals; 10,000+ e-books, 10,000+ CDs, and over 6,000 films  

LIBRARY HOMEPAGE: https://library.stonybrook.edu/

The Library homepage gives you access to: STARS (Library Catalog); Databases, E- journals; Reference Shelf; Subject Guides; InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery; Ask-A-Librarian

REMOTE ACCESS: NET ID and NET ID PASSWORD

When accessing databases from off campus, make sure that you are using the links on the library web pages. These links include the library proxy in the address, which is what authenticates you for remote access by prompting you for your Net ID and password. See Linking to online library resources below for information on using Library links in your course web pages or Blackboard sites.

MELVILLE LIBRARY: The Main Stacks (Arts & Humanities, except Music, and Social Sciences): Entrance on the 3^rd Floor.  The Central Reading Room (Main Reference) and the Music and Science & Engineering Libraries are located on the first floor.

• Special Collections & University Archives – 2nd Floor. . Largest collection of W.B. Yeats manuscripts outside of Ireland (microfilm collection), Allen Ginsberg, Jorge Carrera Andrade, John Ciardi, as well as excellent Long Island collection and papers of Senator Jacob Javits.
• Government Documents - 2nd floor of Central Reading Room.
• Map Library – The largest map collection on Long Island.  2nd Floor of Science & Engineering.
• Branch libraries: Chemistry, Marine and Atmospheric Science (MASIC), Math/Physics/Astronomy.
• Health Sciences Library – A separate library system with its own catalog.  You have access to their collection as well, both in print and online.

PEOPLE RESOURCES

• Reference Services: Reference Desk located in the Central Reading Room (CRR).
• We also offer reference via phone, email, chat, and one-on-one sessions.
• Subject Specialists: Get to know the Librarian for your subject area. One of your best resources. Contact them also to suggest material to purchase.
• List of Subject Specialists: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/profiles

STARS (LIBRARY CATALOG): To search for books, journals, music, films, etc. that we own in print or online.  Not to search for articles.

• Personal Account: Sign-In with NET ID and NET ID PASSWORD
• Alert: new material on your search.  Must sign in
• Journal Catalog – Search for Journals/Newspapers, etc.  Tells you what we have online and in print or microform.  Many older issues and some entire journals are not available online.

ENDNOTE: Manage your citations and PDFs using Endnote. The software is available for download from Softweb (softweb.cc.sunysb.edu). More information can be found at the SBU Endnote Wiki (http://sbuendnote.pbwiki.com).

Workshops for EndNote and other resources: https://library.stonybrook.edu/library-events/

INTER-LIBRARY LOAN (ILL): From the Library homepage, click on InterLibrary Loan.

• If we don’t have something here at SBU, we can get it from another library. 
• You must set up an account.  Only takes a minute.
• http://sunysb.hosts.atlas-sys.com/illiad/firsttime.html
• Allow a few days for articles, longer for books

GOOGLE SCHOLAR: Set it up for Stony Brook and WorldCat. Click on Scholar Preferences. Be aware that Google Scholar does not search all of our databases

UTILIZING OTHER UNIVERSITIES/LIBRARIES

• RLG: Current SBU ID. Call ahead - generally can’t borrow material. Columbia, NYU, the New York Public Library, Yale, Cornell, Princeton, Rutgers, and the University of Pennsylvania. For full list of participants, see http://www.oclc.org/programs/partnership/roster.htm
• Research Loan Program – Libraries on LI: Hofstra, Dowling, Adelphi, Saint Joseph’s College, Public Libraries. Go to the Ref Desk here at Stony Brook and we fill out a form for you. For full list of participants, see http://www.lilrc.org/progsvce/rlplist.php
• Get a card from NYPL and your local public library

If you have any questions, please contact the Reference Desk: (631) 632-7110

GOOD LUCK with your research and teaching.

The faculty member for whom you work may authorize you to charge out Library materials on their behalf.

Similarly, as a teaching graduate student you may authorize two proxy borrowers to charge out Library materials on your behalf. These borrowers must be employed by the University or be registered students. Under this arrangement, you agree to be responsible for any materials borrowed on your behalf, including the return of all materials or the payment of replacement charges of items that are lost or damaged.

Proxy authorization may be granted up to the designated expiration date, and may be renewed as necessary, by completing the form again.

Your faculty must use the Proxy Borrower form to authorize you to to borrow materials on their behalf. If you are going to authorize someone to borrow materials on your behalf then you complete the form.