Research & Subject Guides: Health Administration: Databases

Databases for Health Care Policy and Management

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with over 8,500 full text journals, 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing for over 12,500 journals. Some non-journal publications are also indexed.
AccessMedicine
Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Alt HealthWatch
1990-present. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, this resource covers over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1982-present. A comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 760 indexed journals. This is a definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier’s medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, delivering access to over 900 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images. This is an enhanced version of MD Consult with a proprietary medical taxonomy that delivers answers that relate directly to what you’re searching, and suggests other content and concepts you may have otherwise missed.
Cochrane Library
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
PAIS Archive & International
1915-present. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.
PsycARTICLES
Date coverage varies, mostly 1985-present. Full text, citations and abstracts. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.

PubMed
This link to PubMed provides full-text linkouts from within PubMed for articles of all journals available through the Health Sciences Library.

PubMed Health
Provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions by specializing in reviews of clinical effectiveness research.
UpToDate
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.
Web of Science
.This product includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.)

Dynamed
DynaMed® is a premiere clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Nursing Reference Center is the premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. With Nursing Reference Center Plus, nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills, read full-text journal articles and get access to videos, images and new topics also covering nursing management and leadership.
Social Work Abstracts
1977-present. Contains more than 45,000 records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.

ERIC
1966-present. Abstracts and some full text for education reports and journal articles. SBU also has the Educational Documents (EDs) on microfiche.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations, and other sources.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
1985-present. Citations and abstracts to measurement instruments such as tests, questionnaires, interview schedules, etc. in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
LexisNexis Academic
Date coverage varies, mostly current with full text. Includes news, business, health and legal topics, primarily from print, broadcast, and online media.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
1999-present. The federal government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.

Databases: Find the Best Library Databases for Your Research

EndNote

Stony Brook University has a site license for EndNote, a bibliographic tool which enables users to quickly organize references while automatically building bibliographic documentation.

Download EndNote software for Stony Brook University Faculty, Staff and Students
EndNote Guide
Get more information on how to use EndNote.
EndNote Mobile
EndNote Web

Health Administration

Databases for Health Care Policy and Management

Databases: Find the Best Library Databases for Your Research

EndNote

Managing PubMed Results Videos

Library

Resources

Follow Us