Research & Subject Guides: Physical Therapy: Databases

Databases for Physical Therapy

AccessMedicine
Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Alt HealthWatch
1990-present. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, this resource covers over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals.
BioMedCentral
1999-present. Publisher of 276 peer-reviewed open access journals containing all original research articles that are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with some indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for more than 560 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
ClinicalKey
An enhanced version of MD Consult including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, multimedia, patient education materials and other content across 12 distinct content types. Access to the point-of-care content from First Consult is also provided.
Cochrane Library
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
1999-present. The federal government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
PEDro
Date coverage varies. This physiotherapy evidence database contains over 18,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.

PubMed
This link to PubMed provides full-text linkouts from within PubMed for articles of all journals available through the Health Sciences Library.

PubMed Mobile
This link to PubMed is designed for handheld and smartphone users with links to search tools and full-text articles available from the Health Sciences Library.

Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center™ is an evidence-based, point-of-care resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and rehabilitation professionals.

TRIP Database
1997-present. A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence by simultaneously searching multiple sites.
UpToDate
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.

EndNote

Stony Brook University has a site license for EndNote, a bibliographic tool which enables users to quickly organize references while automatically building bibliographic documentation.

Download Endnote Software for Students, Faculty, & Staff
Endnote Guide
Find out more about Endnote and view tutorials to get started.
EndNote Mobile
EndNote Web

Video Resource for Physical Therapy

Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
Largest and richest streaming video resource ever assembled for the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection allows students and faculty to easily find, cite, and share footage of top clinicians and academics explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment. All of the video has been thoroughly indexed to allow users to search and filter content by patient details, therapist specialization, treatment method, presenting problem, and more.

Physical Therapy

Databases for Physical Therapy

EndNote

Video Resource for Physical Therapy

Library

Resources

Follow Us