Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exam Prep Resources
BoardVitals, a high-quality, effective,and powerful exam review tool that can be used anytime and anywhere via aphone, tablet or computer.
The Leader in Online Medical and Healthcare Specialty Examinations and Continuing Education. BoardVitals helps practitioners prepare for licensing and initial certification exams, maintenance of certification (MOC) requirements, and continuing professional education, covering more than 50 specialty areas and exams.
AccessMedicine: Case Files Collection
The Case Files® Collection features the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books in an interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases. Personalized functionality lets users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
Due to the interactive nature of this Collection, users will need to create a MyAccess account. If you do not already have a MyAccess account, one can be created by clicking the dropdown menu in the upper righthand corner where it says “Stony Brook University” and clicking on “Sign-In or Create a Free MyAccess Profile” and then choose “Don’t Have a MyAccess Account?”. Once created, you can use this username/password to access the Case Files Collection remotely and can track your Case History.
McGraw Hill eBook Library: First Aid Test Prep
Includes peer to peer medical review guides provided on the McGraw-Hill eBook Library platform for preparing for USMLE, clerkship, and specialty board exams.
Complete Anatomy by 3D4 Medical
3D4Medical is a 3 dimensional anatomy platform with 12 layered systems and 1,500 clinical video animations. 3D4Medical has 17,000 interactive structures which include a dissectable human heart in 3D and interactive muscle motion. This database includes anatomical papers, classic textbooks, and scan data.
To get the app, click the 'try it for free' button and sign up with your Stony Brook email address. After the account is created, go to Settings, then My Account, and enter the redeem code WBXG3T4VSYHE.
Read by QxMD
'Read by QxMD’ provides a single place to discover new research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Download the app from either Itunes or Google Play. Establish an account selecting your areas of interest. Select settings (gear icon) and select Stony Brook University. Enter your Net ID and password for full access to our electronic journal content.
Click on "Log in/Register" and complete the registration fields. You must register from within the Stony Brook network in order to gain access to the mobile app and accrue CME credits.
Click on "get mobile" friom the top right menu on the VisualDx website to sign up for the app.
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. An essential database for systematic reviews.
Health Sciences Librarian
Health Sciences Librarian