Research & Subject Guides: Theatre Arts: HOME

How To Use This Guide

Hello! This guide is designed to enhance your research. It provides tools & tips for researchers, and brings together selections of excellent resources. Use the tab menu at the top of the page to access:

articles & databases
books
news
websites
citations and style guides
and more.

If you need help or have a comment you can contact us -- our information is on the right sidebar.

Top Picks

Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
OntheBoards.tv
HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.

Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more. The book covers not only classic works (such as Death of a Salesman) but also many commercially successful plays (such as Getting Gertie's Garter), plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter).

Streaming Theatre on Video Services

Digital Theatre+
Includes 600+ classic and contemporary productions in live-capture and audio formats from Digital Theatre+ and partners such as Shakespeare’s Globe, BroadwayHD and the BBC, 800+ video resources such as insights from casts, creatives and academics to give context and enrich students’ learning, and 21,000+ written resources like essays, guides, lesson plans and more give an in-depth look at a play or topic.
Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.
OntheBoards.tv
HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
Kanopy Streaming Service
A repository of streaming films supporting research and teaching in the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and technical fields. Content includes documentaries, training videos, and foreign language material.

Other Subject Guides

Music
by Gisele Schierhorst Last Updated Dec 6, 2023 87 views this year
Dance
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Feb 19, 2024 394 views this year

Film
by Chris Kretz Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 133 views this year

Access to Other Research Libraries

Through the University's membership in various Library consortiums, Stony Brook students, staff and faculty have access to, and/or borrowing privileges at, numerous other research libraries on Long Island, in the greater New York area, and throughout the U.S., Canada, and other countries.

Research Libraries Group (RLG)

The University Libraries' membership in the Research Libraries Group (RLG) consortium allows Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty with current ID cards to enter and use many major libraries in the United States, Canada and abroad.

In our geographical region, other libraries in the program include: Columbia, NYU, The New York Public Library, The New School, American Museum of Natural History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, New-York Historical Society, Cornell, Princeton, Rutgers, The University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.

Stony Brook ID holders visiting these institutions may use materials; however, borrowing privileges are not usually available.

Students, staff, and faculty are urged to call ahead to a particular library, before actually going there, to confirm that they will be granted access at their time of arrival. Also, if they need to use a branch library within one of the participating library systems, it should be confirmed beforehand that the branch also takes part in the program and will allow access.

Theatre Arts

Library Team

Schedule a Research Consultation

How To Use This Guide

Top Picks

Streaming Theatre on Video Services

Other Subject Guides

Access to Other Research Libraries

Library

Resources

Follow Us