Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Open Data: How to Find Data Sets

What Resource Should I Use?

If you need: Try using:
Economic Data

The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) provides access to over 500,000 economic time series from both U.S. and international sources.

The USBureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides economic statistical information including the gross domestic product and national income.

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Data provides economic data for its 35 member countries.

U.S. Government Data

The Census Bureau conducts the US national census every ten years, but also collects information for over 130 other surveys including: the Current Population Survey (updated monthly), the American Community Survey (the largest household survey) and the Annual Retail Trade Survey (business survey).

Data.gov is the United States Federal Government 's open data repository and includes over 190,000 datasets from various government agencies.

Health Information & Statistics

The Big Cities Health Inventory Data collects information for the Health Inventory Data Platform which provides open data from 28 cities in the United States.

Medicare Data datasets include information on hospitals, healthcare facilities, physicians, home healthcare, etc. 

World Health Organization’s Global Health Observatory GHO | The data repository.

The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care documents document “patterns of health care delivery and practice across the United States and evaluates the quality of health care Americans receive.”

Labor Information

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics compiles statistical data from Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor representatives.

ILOSTAT provides access to labor statistics for over 180 countries, including information on labor productivity, social protection, working time, etc.

Statistics

For national statistics FedStats includes agriculture, crime, education, energy use, health insurance, population trends.

Eurostat provides statistical information on European Union.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) is part of an initiative for “Statistics as a Public Good” and includes data on Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, Refugees, Trade, and Tourism.

The World Bank’s DataBank gathers data on World Development Indicators. Development data includes economic, social and environmental indicators, such as: education statistics, gender statistics, health, nutrition, and population statistics.