Open Educational Resources (OER)

MERLOT
(Higher Ed focus) The collection consists of tens of thousands of  discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.  All of these items have been contributed by volunteer contributors who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. | About | Search | Courses|

OER Commons (Open Educational Resources Commons) 
(K-12 focus, with some Higher Ed content) Open acecss class learning materials from around the world since 2007. | Advanced Search |

Coursera
An education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. | About | Courses |

edX
At edX, we believe in the highest quality education, both online and in the classroom. EdX was created for students and institutions that seek to transform themselves through cutting-edge technologies, innovative pedagogy, and rigorous courses. As innovators and experimenters, we want to share what we discover. The edX platform will be available as open source. By conducting and publishing significant research on how students learn, we will empower and inspire educators around the world and promote success in learning. | About | Search | Browse |

Khan Academy
A non-profit educational website created in 2006 by Salman Khan, a graduate of MIT and Harvard Business School to provide "a free world-class education for anyone anywhere." The website features micro lectures via video tutorials stored on YouTube teaching mathematics, history, healthcare, medicine, finance, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, economics, cosmology, organic chemistry, American civics, art history, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and computer science. | About | Search | Browse | 

MERLOT
(Higher Ed focus) The collection consists of tens of thousands of  discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.  All of these items have been contributed by volunteer contributors who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. | About | Search | Courses|

MIT Open Courseware (OCW) 
A web-based publication of virtually all Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) course content. Open Courseware is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. Through OCW, educators improve courses and curricula, making their schools more effective while students find additional resources to help them succeed. | Courses | Advanced Search |

Open Learning Initiative
Innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach, with an aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.

Open.Michigan
An open education initiative that enables faculty, students, and others to share their educational resources and research with the global learning community.

Open Yale Courses
Provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences. | About | Courses |

OpenCourseWare Consortium (OCWC)
worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education. | About | Courses |

If the "open" part of some of these is unclear, look for licensing and copyright statements for each resource (just to be sure!).

• OpenStax CNX
  "21539 reusable modules woven into 1290 collections." Individual "pages" and articles that can be printed and compiled separately or as pre-existing textbook-like collections.
• OER Commons
  "The OER Commons website was created to help educators, students, and lifelong learners find Open Educational Resources that are already posted somewhere on the Internet....This site is a structured database of links to high-quality resources found on other websites. OER Commons provides a single point of access through which educators, students, and all learners can search,browse, evaluate, and discuss over 30,000 high-quality OER."
• Creative Commons
  Search for resources that have been given a Creative Commons license by the rights holder 
• The Internet Archive:
  course and lecture archives. In addition, " its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."
• Open Database of Educational Projects and Organizations (OPDPO) [Creative Commons]
  "...is a wiki-database of organizations involved in providing educational content online. Currently, ODEPO includes 1183 sites affiliated with various organizations, the majority of which were provided to us by educational repositories involved in the creation and expansion of Open Educational Resources (OER)."
• Saylor.org:
  a repository and digital service that "collects, preserves, and distributes digital material. Repositories are important tools for preserving an organization's legacy; they facilitate digital preservation and scholarly communication." Users are able to browse by topic and discipline as well as search for specific resources.
• Free learning resources for teachers | Jorum | jorum.ac.uk: 
  "Jorum is the place where you will find free open educational resources produced by the UK Further and Higher Education community."

Some links and descriptions used with permission from WSU's OER LibGuide (check it out!)

ASU Digital Repository  (Arizona State University)
Designed to store, index, and share the university's creative and scholarly output. Supports almost any type of content, including text, images, audio, video, data sets, and more. 

CaltechAUTHORS  (Caltech)
Contains research publications by Caltech faculty and other Caltech researchers.

The Carolina Digital Repository   (University of North Carolina)
Provides access to the scholarly work and research files of faculty, students and staff at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Dissertations | Masters Theses | Honors Theses | Masters Papers

Credo (University of Massachusetts)
Credo is an online repository containing the digital collections held by the UMass Amherst Libraries’ Department of Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA).

DASH  (Harvard University)
Central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard.

Deep Blue  (University of Michigan)
University of Michigan's permanent, safe, and accessible service for representing our rich intellectual community.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) 
Provides access to the nation’s cultural repositories such as Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive. 

Digital Scholarship@UNLV
The repository is a service of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries. The mission is to capture, preserve, and share the intellectual output of UNLV faculty, staff, students, and collaborations with other stakeholders. 

DukeSpace (Duke University)
Provides access to recent Duke dissertations and theses as well as access to university records and other related digital content.

eScholarship  (University of California)
Provides open access, scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars to scholars worldwide.

IDEALS (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Provides access todissertations and theses.

IUScholarWorks Repository (Indiana University)
Enables IU scholars and academic units to make their scholarly materials accessible to the world, at a stable URL, and with the assurance they will be maintained over the long term. | Bloomington | IUPUI | Kokomo | South Bend|

Purdue University Research Repository | PURR (Purdue University) 
Provides an online, collaborative working space and data-sharing platform to support the data management needs of Purdue researchers and their collaborators.

ScholarlyCommons  (University of Pennsylvania)
Repository for the scholarly output of researchers at the University of Pennsylvania. Publicly accessible Penn dissertations. 

MINDS@UW  (University of Wisconsin) 
Stores, indexes, distributes, and preserves the digital materials of the University of Wisconsin.

The UNL DigitalCommons  (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Organized by Departments, Centers, and Research Groups: Contains more than 30,800 articles, papers, ebooks, documents, presentations, creative activities, master's theses, open-access dissertations, etc.

ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories)
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
Directory of academic open access repositories. 

A list of freely available multimedia repositories including photographs, works of art, videos, etc.

• NYPD Public Domain More than 180,000 items from the New York Public Library Digital Collection in the Public Domain.
• The Internet Archive The Moving Image Library contains more than 2 million movies.
• CCSearch use CCSearch to discover Creative Commons licensed media.
• The Commons (Flickr)
  "The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."
• Library of Congress Digital Collections
  "The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. The following services are your gateway to a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites."Copyright and Fair Use Info
• Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
  Includes a filter for unrestricted images.