Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles and Reviews
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
CAIRN Free Access Journals
CAIRN Free Access Journals is a database of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Journals are freely available online once the embargo period defined by their publisher is over. Most of the titles in the database are French language journals.
Cambridge Journals Online
1990s-present. Access to 500 fulltext, peer-reviewed journals and 20 books that cover a broad range of subjects across the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
Full-text for scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Fulltext. Topic-based, encyclopedic coverage of literary criticism, theory and history, mostly as long essays written by over 275 leading scholars. Includes bibliographies.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
We will request a copy from another library.
Request an item or set up an account.
Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.
For maximum benefit when off-campus:
- Click on Settings in the upper right corner
- Click on Library links on the menu on the left
- Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
- Hit Find Library
- Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook
Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.