HUI 216: Italian Civilization through the Ages, Geniuses of Italian Science: Primary Sources

Artstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than three million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Fulltext. Primary source material linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. Includes exploration journals & logs, letters, diaries, government papers, missionary papers, slave papers, travel writing, memoirs, maps, etc.

1450-1914. Full-text. Includes Part I: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 and Part II: 1851-1914. An online library of over 66,000 titles, including books, reports, surveys, government publications, correspondence, political pamphlets, speeches, and 466 pre-1906 serials. Combining collections at University of London and Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World is a critical resource for international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization and the birth of the modern corporation. The global scope and wide subject range make it a key resource for History, Economics, Asian Studies, International Affairs, Africana Studies, Political Science, Women/Gender, Anthropology, Law and Philosophy.

Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more.

Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times. (Description from vendor)