Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this page to find Library databases with articles, book reviews, and e-books to support your research, as well as digitized primary source materials. See a complete list of the Library's databases here.
Searches research databases, journals, our catalogs, and more | HELP
A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.
For maximum benefit when off-campus:
- Click on Settings in the upper right corner
- Click on Library links on the menu on the left
- Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
- Hit Find Library
- Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - Fulltext @ Stony Brook
Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.
Selected Databases for Scholarly Articles, Reviews, and eBooks
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
1887-present. Citations and abstracts to articles from over 2,000 journals, as well as books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related disciplines.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Selected Databases for Primary Sources
New York Times (Historical)
1851-3 years ago. Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound
15th Century to early 20th Century. Fulltext primary sources. A comprehensive online collection offering a wide range of writings on the subject of witchcraft from the 15th century to the early 20th century, including many rare and fragile manuscripts of eyewitness accounts, court records of the trials of witches, and depositions taken from the victims. The collection also includes: Anti-persecution writings; Legal and church documents and Philosophical writings, as well as numerous dissertations and printed works examining theological, legal, and social implications of witchcraft.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.