Geosciences

By Congressional mandate, ATSDR produces "toxicological profiles" for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites. These hazardous substances are ranked based on frequency of occurrence at NPL sites, toxicity, and potential for human exposure. Toxicological profiles are developed from a priority list of 275 substances. ATSDR also prepares toxicological profiles for the Department of Defense (DOD) and the Department of Energy (DOE) on substances related to federal sites.

AGU publishes 19 highly respected, peer-reviewed scientific journals covering research in the earth and space sciences.

Note: Hosted by Wiley Online Library

Includes access to the museum's science publications and archives, museum publications and digital special collections, and archive authority records.

1991 - current.

Corresponds to the current edition of the printed book. Coverage of all types of physical science data. Presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables. Substances in these tables can be retrieved by searching on name, formula, or CAS Registry Number, and Structure.

Subjects covered include structural biology and crystallography.

Access Note: Full text, but date coverage varies.

Date coverage varies. Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and languages. There are more than 16,000 journals and 6.5 million article records in the directory.

Date coverage varies back to the 1940s. Some full-text. Deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Access note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

1933-Present (Worldwide coverage); 1693-Present (North American coverage). Abstracts. Includes all areas of geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, and stratigraphy.

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

PLEASE NOTE: Google Scholar does not search all of Stony Brook's subscription databases.

To see links to SBU's resources while searching Google Scholar, go to settings, click "Library Links" and search for Stony Brook University. Make sure Stony Brook University is selected and save your settings. Then when you search in Google Scholar, "view full text at SBU" will show up next to resources we have in our catalog so you can easily access them.

1970s - present. Mostly abstracts; some full text. Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Articles from Nature Publishing journals across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.

1915-present. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.

Focusing on a specific area within life and health science, run by leading academics and practicing researchers and publish significant new research in their respective fields, along with commentary and review.

Includes journals:
PLOS ONE
PLOS Biology
PLOS Computational Biology
PLOS Genetics
PLOS Medicine
PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
PLOS Pathogens

(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

A global science gateway linking national and international scientific databases and repositories. This site allows users to search scientific information collected from around the world. Much of the information in this database is not available via conventional web searching.