Research & Subject Guides: English: Articles & Databases

Databases for English

Looking for more library research databases? Try Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
1975-present. Citations & abstracts for nearly 1,130 leading arts and humanities journals. Cited reference searching. Subset of Web of Science.

Contemporary Authors
Encyclopedic collection of essays, criticism, awards, and bibliographies of over 124,000 authors, journalists, screenwriters, dramatists, and cartoonists published in or translated into English. All genres and publishers. Primarily modern authors.

Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.

EBBO (Early English Books Online)
1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Gale Primary Sources: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

PLEASE NOTE: Google Scholar does not search all of Stony Brook's subscription databases.

To see links to SBU's resources while searching Google Scholar, go to settings, click "Library Links" and search for Stony Brook University. Make sure Stony Brook University is selected and save your settings. Then when you search in Google Scholar, "view full text at SBU" will show up next to resources we have in our catalog so you can easily access them.
Humanities Source
Full-text for scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism *
Fulltext. Topic-based, encyclopedic coverage of literary criticism, theory and history, mostly as long essays written by over 275 leading scholars. Includes bibliographies.

JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.

Literature Resource Center
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Collection of critical essays, biographies, timelines and other resources. Includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and The Dictionary of Literary Biography. Selected material from Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
Ordering Dissertations
Many dissertations are neither accessible online nor published as a book. Some aren't even cataloged in conventional form. Many can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. When all else fails, most can be ordered online from this link: downloaded for $37, or a paper copy mailed for $44.
Oxford Reference
Current/Regularly updated. A full-text reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.
Project MUSE *
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to complete scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Ulrichsweb.com
more...less...
Provides bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.