Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Research Articles
Much of your research will be done through our subscription databases - resources that you have access to while a student at Stony Brook. To access them from off campus, you'll be asked to enter your NetID and password.
Each database will search a specific collection of published articles ranging from peer reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some basic tips as you get started:
- Try your search in more than one database.
- Use the advanced search option for more control on how you enter your searches.
- Take time to develop a strategy - what keywords are you using? If you're not finding results, how else might you describe your topic?
- Use the database limiters to focus your results - limiting your searches to specific date ranges, language, article type, etc.
- If you don't see a full text link for an article, put in an interlibrary loan request and let the library find it for you.
- Having trouble? Consult the What Do I Do When? tab or Ask a Librarian.
Academic Search Complete Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Best Bet for starting your research.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) 1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
JSTOR Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
PsycARTICLES Date coverage varies, mostly 1985-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
SAGE Journals Academic, scholarly and research articles on subjects in humanities, medicine, sciences and social sciences.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Teacher Reference Center 1984-present. Citations and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Looking for empirical research? These are studies that rely on data collected through experimentation and direct observation. Keep in mind that not all peer reviewed articles will necessarily be empirical research.
While some databases have a direct way to limit results to empirical research, there are also search tips that will help you find these types of articles regardless.
- PsycInfo and PsycArticles: limit the Methodology type to Empirical Study or more specific examples:
- ERIC: limit to Publication Type: Reports - Research:
- For other databases, you can try adding keywords to your search that often appear within these types of articles:
- empirical research
- qualitative or quantitative