Research & Subject Guides: Digital Composition, Storytelling & Multimodal Literacy: Resource Toolkit

Image And Audio Resources

Creative Commons ccSearch
a nonprofit organization that develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation -- includes a content search engine
Dig.ccMixter
community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want
Flickr - Creative Commons Pool
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license
Free Music Archive (FMA)
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. The Free Music Archive is a continuation of that purpose, designed for the age of the internet.
Freesound.org
a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, etc., released under the Creative Commons Sampling Plus License. The Freesound Project provides new and interesting ways of accessing these samples
Internet Archive
Includes images, audio, moving images, digital texts and software
MorgueFile
Public image photo archive
Soundcloud Creative Commons
Soundcloud is a music and audio sharing site. Search the Creative Commons licensed recordings.
US Governement Photos & Images
photos and images by topic. Some of these photos and images are in the public domain and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee; however, some photos and images may be protected by license
Wikimedia Commons
Creative Commons-licensed images from the Wikimedia Foundation

iMovie is a good choice for Mac users who want to create digital stories. Comes installed on Macs. MAC ONLY

Windows Movie Maker is a video editing software application that has been included as part of the Windows operating system since 2000. FOR PCs.

Audacity is a cross-platform digital audio editing program that lets you record, edit and mix narration and music. It is recommended for those just starting out with audio editing and best of all, it's available for free.

Apps

You can create a digital story on your phone or tablet! Try these apps for creating digital stories:

Digital Composition, Storytelling & Multimodal Literacy

Image And Audio Resources

Apps

iOS (iPhones, iPads) Apps

Android Apps

Library

Resources

Follow Us