Research & Subject Guides: Digital Humanities Resources: Home

What is Digital Humanities?

Digital humanities (DH) research, practice and teaching inhabit the points of contact between digital technologies and humanities disciplines. University College London Centre for Digital Humanities describes DH practice as an intention ". . . to produce applications and models that make possible new kinds of research, both in the humanities disciplines and in computer science and its allied technologies. [DH] also studies the impact of these techniques on cultural heritage, memory institutions, libraries, archives, and digital culture.

For more information see the MLA Guidelines for Evaluating Work in the Digital Humanities and Digital Media.

Research Databases for the Digital Humanities

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Includes the Tresor de la Langue Francaise (over 2600 texts, ranging from classic works to non-fiction prose and technical writing.) Also included is the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) ? containing 1780 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio. Reference sources include Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopdie, as well as a number of historical French dictionaries (Nicot, Fraud, Littr, Bayle, and several editions of the Dictionnaire de L'Acadmie franaise.)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) 1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Gale Primary Sources: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Gale Literature Provides access and simultaneous cross searching of four Gale literary databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library (selected literary content), Literature Resource Center - LRC, and LitFinder. Gale Literary Sources also allows researchers to visualize search data by term frequency. Researchers can search all four databases at once using this portal, or access each individually. Gale Literary Sources includes Topic Finder and Gale Literary Index.
Gale Primary Sources Provides access and simultaneous cross searching of six Gale primary source databases: The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times Digital Archive, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Witchcraft in Europe and America (Archives Unbound). Gale Primary Sources also allows researchers to visualize search data by term frequency. Researchers can search all six databases at once using this portal, or access each individually by visiting the appropriate page in the A-Z list.
Gale Literature Resource Center Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Collection of critical essays, biographies, timelines and other resources. Includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and The Dictionary of Literary Biography. Selected material from Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
MLA International Bibliography 1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
ProQuest Basic Search The ProQuest database can be used for basic searches in many fields of subject. ProQuest features subject criteria on the arts, business, dissertations and theses, health and medicine, history, newspapers, and much more.

Texts & hypertexts from our collections

Between Humanities and the Digital by Patrik Svensson; David Theo Goldberg
Call Number: Main Stacks AZ105 .B48 2015
ISBN: 9780262028684
Publication Date: 2015
Humanities -- Data processing
Humanities -- Research
Humanities -- Study and teaching
Digital media
Digital communications
Information storage and retrieval systems -- Humanities
Debates in the Digital Humanities by Matthew K. Gold (Editor)
Call Number: Main Stacks AZ182 .D44 2012
ISBN: 9780816677948
Publication Date: 2012
Humanities -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Data processing
Humanities -- Technological innovations
Digital media
Defining Digital Humanities by Melissa Terras; Julianne Nyhan; Edward Vanhoutte
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781409469643
Publication Date: 2013
Humanities -- Data processing.
Humanities -- Electronic information resources.
Humanities -- Research -- Data processing.
Information storage and retrieval systems -- Humanities.
Digital Humanities by Daniel J. Cohen
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780472029471
Publication Date: 2013
Humanities--Digital libraries
Humanities--Research
Communication in learning and scholarship--Technological innovations
Scholarly electronic publishing
Humanities--Information technology
The Digital Humanities and Islamic and Middle East Studies by Elias Muhanna (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9783110376517
Publication Date: 2016
A New Republic of Letters by Jerome McGann
Call Number: Main Stacks AZ186 .M35 2014
ISBN: 9780674728691
Publication Date: 2014
Humanities -- Research
Humanities -- Study and teaching
Memory -- Social aspects
Learning and scholarship -- Social aspects
Communication in learning and scholarship -- Technological innovations
Digital media -- Social aspects
SpecLab by Johanna Drucker
Call Number: Main Stacks AZ105 .D785 2009
ISBN: 9780226165073
Publication Date: 2009
Humanities -- Research -- Data processing
Humanities -- Digital libraries
Image processing -- Digital techniques
Information storage and retrieval systems -- Humanities

Digital Humanities Resources

Faculty Librarian

What is Digital Humanities?

Research Databases for the Digital Humanities

Texts & hypertexts from our collections

Campus Links

Library

Resources

Follow Us