Research & Subject Guides: Cultural Studies: Books & eBooks

Search the Catalog

Catalog Quick Search

Find books, journals, DVDs, collections and more in our catalogs. | HELP

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

We will request a copy from another library.

Request an item or set up an account.

Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.

WorldCat

WorldCat is a catalog of most libraries in the U.S. & Canada and many from other countries. Find books, DVDs, web sites, musical scores, archival material and more.

There are two versions of WorldCat, the subscription version from First Search, which is below and which I recommend, and the free version. If you find something you need while searching in WorldCat, and we don't own it, we can usually get it from another library. See InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to learn more. One great feature of the First Search version is that it automatically fills out your ILL request form.

WorldCat Search
Pre-1000 BC to present. Licensed WorldCat product. A catalog of books and a wide variety of other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat
The world's largest network of library content and services, allowing you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Spotlight Titles

Culture - Theory - Disability: Encounters Between Disability Studies and Cultural Studies by Anne Waldschmidt (Editor); Hanjo Berressem (Editor); Moritz Ingwersen (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9783839425336
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Sound Studies: Critical Concepts in Media and Cultural Studies by Michael Bull (Editor)
Call Number: Music Library MUS TK7881.4 .S6837 2013
ISBN: 9780415597333
Publication Date: 2013-03-25
Unpopular Culture by Martin Luthe; Sascha Pohlmann
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9048528704
Publication Date: 2016-09-01

Digital Libraries and eBook Portals

Google Books
Search the full text of over 15 million books. Books in the public domain are available to read online or download for free. Also contains magazines and periodicals.
Ebsco eBooks Collection
Fulltext. Access to over 1,700 eBooks covering a wide range of topics.

ACLS Humanities eBook
Features over 5,000 eBooks on a wide range of subjects in the humanities.

Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text access to selected Oxford University Press books. Please note that we do not have full text access when the "locked" image appears next to the title.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Brings together the collections of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A growing collection of more than 44,000 online, open access scholarly books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries.
Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts
A sub-set of the Internet Archive. This collection is comprised of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses, contributed by the Internet Archive Community.

Project Gutenberg
The first provider of free electronic books, this digital library contains over 60,000 eBooks, with a focus on older texts for which the U.S. copyright has expired.

Cultural Studies: Books & eBooks

Search the Catalog

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

WorldCat

Spotlight Titles

Digital Libraries and eBook Portals

Library

Resources

Follow Us